Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Faculty Scholarship Resources: Citation Analysis

Resources to assist faculty with understanding, locating, and collecting bibliometric measures related to their scholarly output. An overview of emerging alternative methods of research assessment.

Citation Analysis

The tools outlined on this page will help to answer the question, "How many times and where was an article or author cited?"

Please note that no single database keeps tracks of all the journal articles that have cited your work. You may have to check citations to your work in multiple databases to get a sense of a fuller range of your work's importance in your field.

What Do Citations Measure?

"Generally, citations represent the notions of use, reception, utility, influence, significance, and the somewhat nebulous word 'impact.' Citations do not, however, represent measures of quality."

Pendlebury, D. (2009). The use and misuse of journal metrics and other citation indicators. Archivum Immunologiae et Therapiae Experimentalis, 57 (1), 1-11. 

Boost your citations

Post your scholarly work in CUNY Academic Works - it will get more eyeballs and consequently more citations.

Databases Available at John Jay

SCOPUS provides access to peer-reviewed journal titles from international publishers in science, technology, social science and medicine. For citation analysis in this database, choose the Author Search tab. After entering the name and then choosing correct author, select the Citation Overview link in the section beneath the author's name. For more details on using Scopus for citation analysis, see this helpful guide from the University of Michigan Library. Among the "basket of metrics" offered (see the Journal Ranking tab for others), in late 2016 Scopus also launched CiteScore, the average citations per document that a title receives over a three-year period.


EBSCO databases (e.g. Academic Search Complete, PsycInfo, Criminal Justice Abstracts, etc.) cover a range of disciplines. If the database you are using allows for the feature, you will see a Cited References link on the top navigation bar. After typing in an author's name, you will be able to see how many times the author was cited in that databases as well as the citing article. EBSCO also offers a suite a metrics - including citations, captures/saves and social media sharing - at the article level via its partnership with Plum Analytics presented in the Plum X Metrics icon found in relevant article abstracts.


Web of Science is the first database that enabled the tracking of citations, journal rankings, and impact factor. Spanning academic disciplines and impressive in its size, it remains the most widely recognized citation tool. For citation analysis in this database, choose the Cited Reference Search. For more details on using Scopus for citation analysis, see this helpful guide from the University of Michigan Library.


Wiley Online Library provides AM Score, an easy-to-use Altmetrics indicator that includes mentions by news outlets, Twitter and Facebook as well as readers on Mendeley (a science-dominant academic networking tool).


Note: The above are selected examples. Additional databases also provide features to count and track citations and/or set up alerts, e.g. JSTOR, ProQuest and SAGE databases.

Tools Available on the Web

Google Scholar  indexes a range of peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from across disciplines. If an article has been cited, a cited by link will appear under its title. For more information about searching see Google Scholar's Help pages.

Google now offers some additional services, Google Scholar Citations, that allows authors to keep track of how their work is being cited.Once you set up the tracking, you will be able to see who is citing your work, graph citations over time, and calculate some other citation metrics. To learn more about Google Scholar Citations, please read the instructions on how to set the service up.

Google Scholar Metrics summarizes recent citations and h-factors for many journals and articles published between 2007 and 2011. (See article on caveats of this system)

Google Scholar Universal Gadget is yet another Google tool you may wish to take a look at. It will let you search for the total number of citations of a given author and will also calculate a total citation count, total number of cited publications and the H-Index.


 

 

Harzing's Publish or Perish is a freely downloadable software that analyzes citation data from Google Scholar. Among other metrics, it will calculate the total number of citations, the average number of citations per paper or per author, the H-index, and the g-index.