Our streaming collections include Films on Demand (Infobase), AVON / Academic Videos Online (ProQuest/Alexander Street), selected documentaries from Docuseek , Sage Criminology and Criminal Justice videos, Sage Research Methods videos, and Film Platform (contemporary documentaries); and a very few videos specifically requested by JJ professors for curricular support on Kanopy and on Swank. Questions? Requests? Please email media librarian esexton at jjay.cuny.edu
Many of our videos are discoverable with OneSearch but not all. Off-campus authentication for all streaming videos is by way of John Jay email ID and password.
Netflix permits educational screenings of certain documentaries which can be shown in class via personal accounts. Note Netflix does not provide institutional accounts; the Library does not have its own Netflix account. In summer 2021, Netflix listed over three thousand documentaries available for educational screening - including those listed below. Netflix does not sell their content on DVDs.
Audrie and Daisy
Cuba and the Camerman
Five Came Back
Into the Inferno
One of Us
The Ivory Game
The White Helmets
Winter on Fire
Take Your Pills
Bobby Kennedy for President
Large collection of documentaries, dramas, and newsreels from Films for the Humanities & Sciences, Cambridge Educational, PBS, National Geographic, NOVA, BBC and more. Videos may play best in the Chrome browser. Content may change slightly from semester to semester: the vendor removes & adds some titles every quarter (there may be a lag time in updating catalog records). We license this collection on a year-by-year basis.
About AVON ( Library news blog).
NOTES: Most AVON titles are discoverable with OneSearch. We license AVON on a year-by-year basis. AVON includes content we formerly accessed as discrete collections, listed below:
Titles are streamed for 12 months from our initial licensing date. Please go to Swank platform to browse currently available content. Titles listed below are active as of 25 January 2023. Expiration dates are listed in file above.
|A Nightmare on Elm Street|
|A Quiet Place|
|Children of Men|
|Dead Man Walking|
|Do the Right Thing|
|Hate (La Haine)|
|In Cold Blood|
|Judas and the Black Messiah|
|No Country for Old Men|
|Paths of Glory|
|Saturday Night Fever|
|The Burning Bed|
|The Silence of the Lambs|
|The War of the Worlds|
|Touch of Evil|
Faculty wishing to request additional titles for curricular support, please email the media librarian esexton at jay.cuny.edu
Academic Conferences and Lectures:
Academic Earth features over 5,000 lectures from top rate Universities across the country on many topics and disciplines. Entire courses are offered as are playlists of videos on various topics.
iBioSeminars A project of the American Society for Cell Biology, this site features lecture-style videos reported by scientists and edited by science writers, which provide contemporary biological information and cutting edge developments.
MicrobeWorld created in response to public concerns about bioterrorism and other risks by the American Society for Microbiology, this site features podcasts and videos that teach microbiology and the impact of microorganisms on human culture.
Documentary, historic and art film archives:
ARTE Cultural programming from Europe in English, French, German, Polish, Spanish and Italian. Please note not all content will play in the U.S.
Black Film Archive A living register of Black films showcasing Black films made from 1915 to 1979 currently streaming. Good for discovering titles, often links to open content.
European Film Gateway Historical footage from 38 film archives across Europe. Notable for significant World War 1 footage.
Europeana Collections cultural heritage from European archives, libraries and museums.
Folkstreams. "The films on Folkstreams were produced by independent filmmakers. These documentaries focus on the culture, struggles, and arts of unnoticed Americans from many different kinds of communities".
Gif It Up Winning art from an annual gif-making competition for the most creative reuse of digitised cultural heritage material.
Internet Archive moving image collection contains thousands of digital movies, uploaded by Archive users, which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, cartoons and concerts.
Library of Congress films and videos. Films from the 20th century, especially early films. Incudes the National Screening Room titles.
National Film Board of Canada has a large collection of full length documentary, educational and independent films.
PBS offers episodes from several of its popular series like NOVA, American Experience, and Masterpiece (selected episodes change from time to time so you can't assume they'll be available throughout a given semester).
Snag Films advertising-supported documentary and Independent films.
TED Talks short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less), devoted to spreading ideas.
UbuWeb Avant-garde performances, including visual, concrete and sound poetry, film and sound art mp3 archives.
WGBH Openvault unique and historically important content produced by public television and radio.