Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Careers in Forensic Science: Forensic Science Organizations

Organizations

American Academy of Forensic Sciences
The AAFS is the premier professional organization for forensic science in the U.S. The page includes employment opportunities, membership directory, discussion forum & meetings. Section under Resources includes information on forensic science careers, education, the Young Forensic Scientists Forum and the organization's newsletter, Academy News.
 
American Society of Crime Laboratory Directors
Offers guidelines for forensic laboratory management practices, a code of ethics, and information on their voluntary accreditation program for crime laboratories. An employment directory searchable by state, and recent issues of ASCLD NEWS, the society's newsletter, are also available.
 
California Association of Criminalists
Provides information about the organization and links to other forensic science sites. A printable brochure about careers in forensic science is available (http://www.cacnews.org/pdfs/forensiccareer.pdf) as well as the organization's extensive newsletter, CAC News, from 1997 to present (http://www.cacnews.org/archives.htm). .
 
Canadian Society of Forensic Science
Society's site includes a history of the CSFS & the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Laboratory System, STR DNA data in Excel spreadsheets, table of contents for the Society's journal (1995 to present) as well as fulltext book reviews (1999 - 2002).
 
Forensic Science Society Web Page (UK)
British forensic science professional organization site includes information about the society's journal Science and Justice (subscriptions, rates, and the table of contents of recent volumes), full text (in PDF format) of their newsletter, INTERfaces, and a long list of links to other forensic science sites.