Digital Forensics Explained by Greg GoglinThis book covers the full life cycle of conducting a mobile and computer digital forensic examination, including planning and performing an investigation as well as report writing and testifying. Case reviews in corporate, civil, and criminal situations are also described from both prosecution and defense perspectives.Digital Forensics Explained, Second Edition draws from years of experience in local, state, federal, and international environments and highlights the challenges inherent in deficient cyber security practices. Topics include the importance of following the scientific method and verification, legal and ethical issues, planning an investigation (including tools and techniques), incident response, case project management and authorization, social media and internet, cloud, anti-forensics, link and visual analysis, and psychological considerations.The book is a valuable resource for the academic environment, law enforcement, those in the legal profession, and those working in the cyber security field. Case reviews include cyber security breaches, anti-forensic challenges, child exploitation, and social media investigations. Greg Gogolin, PhD, CISSP, is a Professor of Information Security and Intelligence at Ferris State University and a licensed Professional Investigator. He has worked more than 100 cases in criminal, civil, and corporate environments.
Publication Date: 2021
Cyber Security and Digital Forensics by Sabyasachi Pramanik (Editor); Mangesh M. Ghonge (Editor); Ramchandra Mangrulkar (Editor); Dac-Nhuong Le (Editor)CYBER SECURITY AND DIGITAL FORENSICS Cyber security is an incredibly important issue that is constantly changing, with new methods, processes, and technologies coming online all the time. Books like this are invaluable to professionals working in this area, to stay abreast of all of these changes. Current cyber threats are getting more complicated and advanced with the rapid evolution of adversarial techniques. Networked computing and portable electronic devices have broadened the role of digital forensics beyond traditional investigations into computer crime. The overall increase in the use of computers as a way of storing and retrieving high-security information requires appropriate security measures to protect the entire computing and communication scenario worldwide. Further, with the introduction of the internet and its underlying technology, facets of information security are becoming a primary concern to protect networks and cyber infrastructures from various threats. This groundbreaking new volume, written and edited by a wide range of professionals in this area, covers broad technical and socio-economic perspectives for the utilization of information and communication technologies and the development of practical solutions in cyber security and digital forensics. Not just for the professional working in the field, but also for the student or academic on the university level, this is a must-have for any library. Audience: Practitioners, consultants, engineers, academics, and other professionals working in the areas of cyber analysis, cyber security, homeland security, national defense, the protection of national critical infrastructures, cyber-crime, cyber vulnerabilities, cyber-attacks related to network systems, cyber threat reduction planning, and those who provide leadership in cyber security management both in public and private sectors
Publication Date: 2022
Cyber Forensics: Examining emerging and hybrid technologies. by Albert J. Marcella (Editor)Threat actors, be they cyber criminals, terrorists, hacktivists or disgruntled employees, are employing sophisticated attack techniques and anti-forensics tools to cover their attacks and breach attempts. As emerging and hybrid technologies continue to influence daily business decisions, the proactive use of cyber forensics to better assess the risks that the exploitation of these technologies pose to enterprise-wide operations is rapidly becoming a strategic business objective. This book moves beyond the typical, technical approach to discussing cyber forensics processes and procedures. Instead, the authors examine how cyber forensics can be applied to identifying, collecting, and examining evidential data from emerging and hybrid technologies, while taking steps to proactively manage the influence and impact, as well as the policy and governance aspects of these technologies and their effect on business operations. A world-class team of cyber forensics researchers, investigators, practitioners and law enforcement professionals have come together to provide the reader with insights and recommendations into the proactive application of cyber forensic methodologies and procedures to both protect data and to identify digital evidence related to the misuse of these data. This book is an essential guide for both the technical and non-technical executive, manager, attorney, auditor, and general practitioner who is seeking an authoritative source on how cyber forensics may be applied to both evidential data collection and to proactively managing today's and tomorrow's emerging and hybrid technologies. The book will also serve as a primary or supplemental text in both under- and post-graduate academic programs addressing information, operational and emerging technologies, cyber forensics, networks, cloud computing and cybersecurity.
Publication Date: 2021
Mobile Forensics – The File Format Handbook: Common File Formats and File Systems Used in Mobile Devices by Christian Hummert et alThis open access book summarizes knowledge about several file systems and file formats commonly used in mobile devices. In addition to the fundamental description of the formats, there are hints about the forensic value of possible artefacts, along with an outline of tools that can decode the relevant data. The book is organized into two distinct parts: Part I describes several different file systems that are commonly used in mobile devices. · APFS is the file system that is used in all modern Apple devices including iPhones, iPads, and even Apple Computers, like the MacBook series. · Ext4 is very common in Android devices and is the successor of the Ext2 and Ext3 file systems that were commonly used on Linux-based computers. · The Flash-Friendly File System (F2FS) is a Linux system designed explicitly for NAND Flash memory, common in removable storage devices and mobile devices, which Samsung Electronics developed in 2012. · The QNX6 file system is present in Smartphones delivered by Blackberry (e.g. devices that are using Blackberry 10) and modern vehicle infotainment systems that use QNX as their operating system. Part II describes five different file formats that are commonly used on mobile devices. · SQLite is nearly omnipresent in mobile devices with an overwhelming majority of all mobile applications storing their data in such databases. · The second leading file format in the mobile world are Property Lists, which are predominantly found on Apple devices. · Java Serialization is a popular technique for storing object states in the Java programming language. Mobile application (app) developers very often resort to this technique to make their application state persistent. · The Realm database format has emerged over recent years as a possible successor to the now ageing SQLite format and has begun to appear as part of some modern applications on mobile devices. · Protocol Buffers provide a format for taking compiled data and serializing it by turning it into bytes represented in decimal values, which is a technique commonly used in mobile devices. The aim of this book is to act as a knowledge base and reference guide for digital forensic practitioners who need knowledge about a specific file system or file format. It is also hoped to provide useful insight and knowledge for students or other aspiring professionals who want to work within the field of digital forensics. The book is written with the assumption that the reader will have some existing knowledge and understanding about computers, mobile devices, file systems and file formats.
Publication Date: 2022
Internet of Things and Cyber Physical Systems by Keshav Kaushik (Editor); Susheela Dahiya (Editor); Akashdeep Bhardwaj (Editor); Yassine Maleh (Editor)The quantity, diversity, and sophistication of Internet of Things (IoT) items are rapidly increasing, posing significant issues and solutions for forensic science. Such systems are becoming increasingly common in public locations, businesses, universities, residences, and other shared offices, producing enormous amounts of data at rapid speeds in a variety of forms. IoT devices can be used as suspects, digital witnesses, or instruments of crime and cyberattacks, posing new investigation problems, forensic issues, security threats, legal concerns, privacy concerns, and ethical dilemmas. A cyberattack on IoT devices might target the device itself or associated systems, particularly vital infrastructure. This book discusses the advancements in IoT and Cyber-Physical Systems (CPS) Forensics. The first objective is to learn and understand the fundamentals of the Internet of Things Forensics. This objective will answer the question of why and how the IoT has evolved itself as one of the most promising and widely accepted technology across the globe and has widely accepted applications. The second objective is to learn how to use the CPS to answer many computational problems. CPS Forensics is a promising domain and various advancements are there in this field. This book is structured in such a way so that the field of study is relevant to each reader's major or interests. The book's goal is to help each reader to see the relevance of IoT and CPS Forensics to his or her career or interests. This book not only presents numerous case stories from a global perspective, but it also compiles a large amount of literature and research from a database. As a result, this book effectively demonstrates the concerns, difficulties, and trends surrounding the topic while also encouraging readers to think globally. The main goal of this project is to encourage both researchers and practitioners to share and exchange their experiences and recent studies between academia and industry.
Publication Date: 2022
Security, Privacy, and Digital Forensics in the Cloud by Lei Chen (Editor); Hassan Takabi (Editor); Nhien-An Le-Khac (Editor)In a unique and systematic way, this book discusses the security and privacy aspects of the cloud, and the relevant cloud forensics. Cloud computing is an emerging yet revolutionary technology that has been changing the way people live and work. However, with the continuous growth of cloud computing and related services, security and privacy has become a critical issue. Written by some of the top experts in the field, this book specifically discusses security and privacy of the cloud, as well as the digital forensics of cloud data, applications, and services. The first half of the book enables readers to have a comprehensive understanding and background of cloud security, which will help them through the digital investigation guidance and recommendations found in the second half of the book. Part One of Security, Privacy and Digital Forensics in the Cloud covers cloud infrastructure security; confidentiality of data; access control in cloud IaaS; cloud security and privacy management; hacking and countermeasures; risk management and disaster recovery; auditing and compliance; and security as a service (SaaS). Part Two addresses cloud forensics - model, challenges, and approaches; cyberterrorism in the cloud; digital forensic process and model in the cloud; data acquisition; digital evidence management, presentation, and court preparation; analysis of digital evidence; and forensics as a service (FaaS). Thoroughly covers both security and privacy of cloud and digital forensics Contributions by top researchers from the U.S., the European and other countries, and professionals active in the field of information and network security, digital and computer forensics, and cloud and big data Of interest to those focused upon security and implementation, and incident management Logical, well-structured, and organized to facilitate comprehension Security, Privacy and Digital Forensics in the Cloud is an ideal book for advanced undergraduate and master's-level students in information systems, information technology, computer and network forensics, as well as computer science. It can also serve as a good reference book for security professionals, digital forensics practitioners and cloud service providers.
Publication Date: 2019
From Laboratory Studies to Court Evidence: Challenges in Forensic Entomology by Daniel Martin-Vega and Damien CharabidzeIn 2001, Benecke concluded a review on the history of forensic entomology with these optimistic words: "basic research and advanced application of forensic entomology (…) has opened the way to routine casework". At the same time, the TV show Crime Scene Investigation (CSI) largely brought forensic entomology to light. However, the show also cruelly pointed out its limits: After the team leader explained to his colleague how insects can help determine the time of death, the team leader added "You've still got to convince a jury", to which the colleague promptly responded "On guns. It's got to be better than bugs. Less Latin." Indeed, several factors—including complexity, inherent limitations, and the rapid evolution of scientific knowledge—explain the slow acceptance of insect-based evidence. In this context, this Special Issue focuses on the articulation between laboratory studies and casework, a major challenge for the future of forensic entomology.
Publication Date: 2021
The Science of Forensic Entomology by David B. Rivers; Gregory A. DahlemThe Science of Forensic Entomology builds a foundation of biological and entomological knowledge that equips the student to be able to understand and resolve questions concerning the presence of specific insects at a crime scene, in which the answers require deductive reasoning, seasoned observation, reconstruction and experimentation--features required of all disciplines that have hypothesis testing at its core. Each chapter addresses topics that delve into the underlying biological principles and concepts relevant to the insect biology that forms the bases for using insects in matters of legal importance. The book is more than an introduction to forensic entomology as it offers in depth coverage of non-traditional topics, including the biology of maggot masses, temperature tolerances of necrophagous insects; chemical attraction and communication; reproductive strategies of necrophagous flies; archaeoentomology, and use of insects in modern warfare (terrorism). As such it will enable advanced undergraduate and postgraduate students the opportunity to gain a sound knowledge of the principles, concepts and methodologies necessary to use insects and other arthropods in a wide range of legal matters.
Publication Date: 2014
Forensic Entomology by Jeffery Keith Tomberlin (Editor); M. Eric Benbow (Editor)The use of forensic entomology has become established as a global science. Recent efforts in the field bridge multiple disciplines including, but not limited to, microbiology, chemistry, genetics, and systematics as well as ecology and evolution. The first book of its kind, Forensic Entomology: International Dimensions and Frontiers provides an inc
Publication Date: 2015
Maggots, Murder, and Men by Zakaria ErzinçliogluThe science of forensic entomology-the application of insect biology to the investigation of crime-is extremely specialized, combining as it does an expert knowledge of entomology with keen powers of observation and deduction. Dr. Erzinclioglu has been a practitioner for over twenty-five years and has been involved in a great number of investigations, including some recent high-profile cases, where his evidence has been critical to the outcome. A great admirerer of Sherlock Holmes, Dr. Erzinclioglu compares his own techniques with those of his fictional hero, and takes the reader behind the often gruesome but deeply fascinating scenes of a murder investigation. This absorbing book ranges over cases from history, prehistory and mythology to the present day and is as gripping and readable as a good thriller.