DiMaio's Forensic Pathology by Vincent J. M. DiMaio; D. Kimberley MolinaThe first two editions of Forensic Pathology have been highly touted as the definitive, go-to text reference on forensic pathology and this latest edition is no exception. DiMaio's Forensic Pathology, Third Edition is fully updated to include the many advancements that have occurred in the field over the last 20 years since the last edition was published. Joining Dr. Vincent DiMaio is practicing forensic pathologist Dr. Kimberley Molina who brings her expertise to the latest edition of this all-time best-selling work. Historical chapters have been reviewed and updated, and the natural disease and toxicology chapters have been streamlined, so as to expand on the new improvements in the field. New content includes discussions on chronic traumatic encephalopathy, sudden unexplained infant deaths, deaths in the elderly and blast injuries - among other topics. Chapters incorporate changes to death investigation, forensic DNA typing and other relevant fields relative to forensic pathology and determination of death. In addition, the third edition includes an entirely new - and long-sought-after - chapter summarizing Dr. DiMaio's world-renowned expertise on gunshot wounds. Key Features Includes over 400 full-color images illustrating key concepts Boasts new chapters on gunshot wounds, mass fatality incidents and the application of forensic science principles to forensic pathology practice Provides updated and expanded coverage of medicolegal death investigation, postmortem changes, time of death, deaths in custody, deaths in the elderly and drug-related deaths Presents new research and advanced techniques, ranging from chronic traumatic encephalopathy to new and emerging drugs DiMaio's Forensic Pathology, Third Edition maintains its concise, easy-to-read format with completely updated references and over 400 full-color demonstrative photographs and photomicrographs to illustrate concepts - making it appealing not only to forensic pathologists, but also law enforcement personnel and attorneys. This highly anticipated work continues Dr. DiMaio's long legacy of producing invaluable educational and professional resources.
Publication Date: 2021
Death Investigation: An Introduction to Forensic Pathology for the Nonscientist by Ann BucholtzDeath Investigation: An Introduction to Forensic Pathology for the Nonscientist provides students and law enforcement professionals with an accurate, clear overview of forensic pathology. It presents death investigation at the scene and autopsy, providing readers with a broad understanding of forensic pathology and giving them a clear picture of what happens after the examination of the scene. Readers learn what first responders should (and should not) do at the scene, and get a forensic pathologist's perspective on the importance of preserving evidence. Death Investigation methodically explains what happens during autopsy to determine cause and manner of death -- including particulars of blunt force trauma, sharp force injuries, asphyxia, and gunshot wounds -- and how findings are presented in court. Written for a criminal justice audience by a practicing forensic pathologist and educator, Death Investigation makes challenging forensics concepts accessible to nonscientists.
Call Number: Stacks RA1055 .B83 2015
Publication Date: 2014
Guide to Forensic Pathology by Jay DixGuide to Forensic Pathology provides a concise overview of forensic pathology to those who wish to know the basics but lack formal forensic training. Both fascinating and practical, this book explains everything from who the experts are in death investigation and what their roles are to how effective testimonies are presented in court. The importance of forensic DNA testing is emphasized with a separate section in this timely reference guide.
Publication Date: 2017
Death Investigation: Systems and Procedures by Randy HanzlickDeath Investigation: Systems and Procedures is the first book dedicated to the topic of death investigation from a legal standpoint as well as the administrative and operational procedures that pertain to the medical examiner and the coroner system in the United States. Unique in its perspective, this book is the only one not concerned with instruc
Publication Date: 2017
Fundamentals of Forensic Science by Max M. Houck; Jay A. SiegelFundamentals of Forensic Science, Third Edition, provides current case studies that reflect the ways professional forensic scientists work, not how forensic academicians teach. The book includes the binding principles of forensic science, including the relationships between people, places, and things as demonstrated by transferred evidence, the context of those people, places, and things, and the meaningfulness of the physical evidence discovered, along with its value in the justice system. Written by two of the leading experts in forensic science today, the book approaches the field from a truly unique and exciting perspective, giving readers a new understanding and appreciation for crime scenes as recent pieces of history, each with evidence that tells a story.
Publication Date: 2015
Fraud Investigation and Forensic Accounting in the Real World by William L. JenningsThis book covers every aspect of forensic accounting, anti-fraud control systems, and fraud investigations. The author uses his own case experience to guide the reader through each phase of a forensic accounting assignment and fraud investigation. The book opens with an explanation of what happened to a company that was ensnared in a huge commodity purchasing scheme. Using his knowledge and experience gained over 40 years, the author illustrates that unexpected fraud occurrences can happen to any company, in any industry. Additionally, the author explains the current white-collar crime threats that organizations face every day, as well as legal issues that are often implicated in forensic accounting and fraud investigation projects. Electronic and non-electronic evidence gathering is also covered in detail with illustrative examples. One chapter is devoted entirely to the often misunderstood, but extremely important, subject of witness interviews. It provides the correct approach to the analysis and correlation of evidence in determining findings and conclusions of an investigation. Another chapter is devoted to proper report writing. The author provides detailed guidance on presenting findings to a variety of audiences, including management, a board, law enforcement, and at trials and hearings. It also covers proper techniques for measuring economic damages and concludes with a useful index. William L. Jennings is a Senior Director at Delta Consulting Group. He is responsible for providing forensic accounting, investigation, and asset recovery services to corporations, government agencies, attorneys, and their clients, as well as business controls consulting services to organizations. With more than 40 years of experience in public accounting and auditing, forensic accounting, business valuation, investigation, asset recovery, and business controls development, Mr. Jennings has worked on hundreds of forensic accounting and investigation assignments and he provides expert testimony.
Publication Date: 2022
Data Sleuth: Using Data in Forensic Accounting Engagements and Fraud Investigations by Leah WietholterStraightforward, practical guidance for working fraud examiners and forensic accountants In Data Sleuth: Using Data in Forensic Accounting Engagements and Fraud Investigations, certified fraud examiner, former FBI support employee, private investigator, and certified public accountant Leah Wietholter delivers a step-by-step guide to financial investigation that can be applied to almost any forensic accounting use-case. The book emphasizes the use of best evidence as you work through problem-solving data analysis techniques that address the common challenge of imperfect and incomplete information. The accomplished author bridges the gap between modern fraud investigation theory and practical applications and processes necessary for working practitioners. She also provides: Access to a complimentary website with supplementary resources, including a Fraud Detection Worksheet and case planning template Strategies for systematically applying the Data Sleuth® framework to streamline and grow your practice Methods and techniques to improve the quality of your work product Data Sleuth is an indispensable, hands-on resource for practicing and aspiring fraud examiners and investigators, accountants, and auditors. It's a one-of-a-kind book that puts a practical blueprint to effective financial investigation in the palm of your hand.
Publication Date: 2022
Contemporary Issues in Audit Management and Forensic Accounting by Simon Grima (Editor); Engin Boztepe (Editor); Peter J. Baldacchino (Editor)Recently, financial crimes have increased exponentially in many regions of the world. Considering that these crimes are usually due to accounting fraud, more sensitive and effective approaches to accounting fraud and corruption have started developing. In this context, regulations have been put into practice in many countries for measures to be taken against fraud and corruption. It is not possible to take measures against and fight financial crimes by using old traditional methods. Instead, the field of Forensic Accounting has arisen to directly tackle these issues. In the 18 chapters in this volume of Contemporary Studies in Economic and Financial Analysis, expert contributors gather together to examine the extent and characteristics of forensic accounting, a field which has been practiced for many years, but is still not internationally regulated yet.
Publication Date: 2020
Forensic Analytics: Methods and Techniques for Forensic Accounting Investigations by Mark J. NigriniBecome the forensic analytics expert in your organization using effective and efficient data analysis tests to find anomalies, biases, and potential fraud--the updated new edition Forensic Analytics reviews the methods and techniques that forensic accountants can use to detect intentional and unintentional errors, fraud, and biases. This updated second edition shows accountants and auditors how analyzing their corporate or public sector data can highlight transactions, balances, or subsets of transactions or balances in need of attention. These tests are made up of a set of initial high-level overview tests followed by a series of more focused tests. These focused tests use a variety of quantitative methods including Benford's Law, outlier detection, the detection of duplicates, a comparison to benchmarks, time-series methods, risk-scoring, and sometimes simply statistical logic. The tests in the new edition include the newly developed vector variation score that quantifies the change in an array of data from one period to the next. The goals of the tests are to either produce a small sample of suspicious transactions, a small set of transaction groups, or a risk score related to individual transactions or a group of items. The new edition includes over two hundred figures. Each chapter, where applicable, includes one or more cases showing how the tests under discussion could have detected the fraud or anomalies. The new edition also includes two chapters each describing multi-million-dollar fraud schemes and the insights that can be learned from those examples. These interesting real-world examples help to make the text accessible and understandable for accounting professionals and accounting students without rigorous backgrounds in mathematics and statistics. Emphasizing practical applications, the new edition shows how to use either Excel or Access to run these analytics tests. The book also has some coverage on using Minitab, IDEA, R, and Tableau to run forensic-focused tests. The use of SAS and Power BI rounds out the software coverage. The software screenshots use the latest versions of the software available at the time of writing. This authoritative book: Describes the use of statistically-based techniques including Benford's Law, descriptive statistics, and the vector variation score to detect errors and anomalies Shows how to run most of the tests in Access and Excel, and other data analysis software packages for a small sample of the tests Applies the tests under review in each chapter to the same purchasing card data from a government entity Includes interesting cases studies throughout that are linked to the tests being reviewed. Includes two comprehensive case studies where data analytics could have detected the frauds before they reached multi-million-dollar levels Includes a continually-updated companion website with the data sets used in the chapters, the queries used in the chapters, extra coverage of some topics or cases, end of chapter questions, and end of chapter cases. Written by a prominent educator and researcher in forensic accounting and auditing, the new edition of Forensic Analytics: Methods and Techniques for Forensic Accounting Investigations is an essential resource for forensic accountants, auditors, comptrollers, fraud investigators, and graduate students.
Publication Date: 2020
Fraud Examination by W. Steve Albrecht; Chad O. Albrecht; Conan C. Albrecht; Mark F. ZimbelmanLearn to identify, detect, investigate and prevent financial fraud today with the latest edition of Albrecht/Albrecht/Albrecht/Zimbelman's FRAUD EXAMINATION, 6E. Develop fraud skills as you become a better interviewer, stronger and more skeptical document examiner, better technology user and more informed decision maker. Closely examine and gain a strong understanding of the types of fraud and nature of fraud investigation today with current business examples and numerous actual fraud cases, delivered first-hand from the authors' experience.FRAUD EXAMINATION presents today's most important fraud concepts with an emphasis on the growing areas of ebusiness and cyber fraud. Significant discussion familiarizes you with forensic analysis as well as legal options for victims of fraud. New discussion also highlights how experts use technology to accomplish fraud and detect fraud.