Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Communications and Media Studies: Visual and audio resources

Video search

Search the John Jay College Library video collection:

PLEASE NOTE: Searches classic CUNY+ for our DVDs and VHS but only some of our streaming content. Does not search kanopy

Where may students view a DVD or VHS?

DVDs can be viewed on any Library computer, use your own headphones or borrow ours.  All library computers have DVD drives.  The small media room has both DVD and VHS players and may be reserved in advance.

Online video and audio collections at the library

American History in Video 
More than 5,000 hours of videos from commercial and governmental sources, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
   
Counseling and Therapy in Video 
375 hours of videos of dramatized consultations, counseling sessions, and scenes, as well as documentaries, interviews and lectures
   
Ethnographic Video Online 
750 hours of videos from the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, and study guides
   
Films on Demand
Over 7,000 documentaries, dramas, and newsreels from the world’s best producers including, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, Cambridge Educational, PBS, the BBC and more.
   
NAXOS Music Library 

A comprehensive collection of classical music available online, comprising the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Dacapo catalogues, which include Classical, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music.

See a list of all of the library's video collections here.

Video and film archives

Prelinger Archives A film archive including advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur films. This is an excellent cultural history resource.

Archive of American Television Oral history interviews with hundreds of TV legends. Great source for TV history.

Paley Center for Media Located on West 52nd St. Vast library of TV programs, historical and current. Search catalog online.

For more info

See the library's Video Guide.