Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Anthropology

A guide to Anthropology resources at the Lloyd Sealy Library by Barbara Carrel and Ellen Belcher

Magazine, Journal and Newspaper Articles

Provide:

  • Up-to-date information
  • Focus on a naarrow aspect of topic
  • Opinion/point of view
  • Original/timely source material

 

What is a Scholarly Journal?

   

    Scholarly, Peer Reviewed and/or Refereed Journals generally have:

    Original research

    Rigorous acceptance process by scholars in the field

    Author’s credentials presented

    Abstract (summary)

    Footnotes at the bottom of the page or endnotes at the end of the article

    Bibliography or a list of references at the end of the article

 

 

Databases for Magazines, Journals and Newspapers

Search the databases below for magazine, journal and/or newspaper articles and videos on different ethnic groups and/or cultural practices.  You may also consult our Africana Studies libguide for additional listings:

AnthroSource

Academic Search Complete

America: History & Life

American History in Video

Diversity Studies Collection

Ethnic NewsWatch

Films on Demand (documentary films)

Sage Research Method Videos

Sage Sociology Full Text

Social Sciences Full Text

Sociological Abstracts

SocINDEX with Full Text

 

You may also access these databases by clicking on Databases in the middle of our library's homepage then clicking on Select from popular databases or choosing by subject or title:

undefined

 

Keyword/Phrase Searching

Searching in a database is different than searching in Google.  Databases do NOT like sentences.  So when you are searching for articles in OneSearch or one of our databases, you want to write down as many keywords and phrases that best describe your topic. Once you have those keywords/phrases, try different combinations in order to construct a search strategy.  Use the word "and" when combining your keywords/phrases in one of our databases.  You do not need link your keywords/phrases with "and" in OneSearch.

Start with keyword(s) and/or phrase(s) that are as specific as possible

Chinese Americans and intermarriage and Brooklyn

If your search results are too limited, try to broaden your search:

Asian Americans and intermarriage and New York City  

Chinese Americans and New York City

Chinese Americans and intermarriage 

Chinese Americans and marriage

No Fulltext? Find it!

If you choose to search within a specific database and you do not see a fulltext link, THAT DOES NOT MEAN YOU DO NOT HAVE FULLTEXT ONLINE ACCESS TO YOUR ARTICLE:

Click to Search for full text possibilities if you do not see a pdf or fulltext link.

 

Once you click   a new window will open to OneSearch with fulltext options if available: