Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Anthropology

A guide to Anthropology resources at the Lloyd Sealy Library by Barbara Carrel and Ellen Belcher

Selected Readings in Cultural Anthropology and Culture and Deviance

Anthropology. (2008). In W. A. Darity, Jr. (Ed.), International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences (2nd ed., Vol. 1, pp. 116-125). Macmillan Reference USA.

Berg, C. M. (2006). Anthropology, Subdivisions of. In H. J. Birx (Ed.), Encyclopedia of Anthropology (Vol. 1, pp. 184-186). SAGE Reference.

Collings, P. (2006). Anthropology, Cultural. In H. J. Birx (Ed.), Encyclopedia of Anthropology (Vol. 1, pp. 150-157). SAGE Reference.

Erickson, P. E. (2006). Deviance. In H. J. Birx (Ed.), Encyclopedia of Anthropology (Vol. 2, pp. 736-741). SAGE Reference.

Fornango, R. J. (2011). Community disadvantage and crime. Oxford Bibliographies in Criminology. https://doi.org/10.1093/obo/9780195396607-0074

Hayward, K. (2012). Cultural criminology. Oxford Bibliographies in Criminology. https://doi.org/10.1093/obo/9780195396607-0003

Holt, T. (2009). Cultural theories [of crime]. Oxford Bibliographies in Criminology. https://doi.org/10.1093/obo/9780195396607-0009

Rosenfeld, R. (2009). The social construction of crime. Oxford Bibliographies in Criminology. https://doi.org/10.1093/obo/9780195396607-0050

Skelton, T. (2009). Cross-cultural research. In R. Kitchin & N. Thrift (Eds.), International Encyclopedia of Human Geography (Vol. 2, pp. 398-403). Elsevier.

Williams, C. B. (2010). Cross-cultural studies. In H. J. Birx (Ed.), 21st Century Reference Series. 21st Century Anthropology: A Reference Handbook (Vol. 1, pp. 370-378). SAGE Reference.

Ybema, S., Yanow, D., Wels, H., & Kamsteeg, F. (2010). Ethnography. In A. J. Mills, G. Durepos, & E. Wiebe (Eds.), Encyclopedia of Case Study Research (Vol. 1, pp. 347-351). SAGE Reference.

Know What You Need

Think about:

State your topic in one sentence.  This helps you identify keywords/phrases that describe your topic.

How many pages do you need to fulfill your assignment?  Knowing how many pages you need to write helps pinpoint just how much information you will need.

How many and what kind of sources are required?  Knowing how many and what type of sources you need helps you choose a database and limit to the sources you need whether it be scholarly journals, books, newspapers, and/or statistics.

Issues to Explore

If you are exploring issues in anthropology, here are some issues you may wish to explore:

 

Core Journals

Browse through recent and archived articles from key journals in the field to gain an understanding of issues addressed as well as help you brainstorm for topic ideas.  You may browse through the table of contents of anthropology journals on BrowZine or go directly to some core journals we have access to online:

American Anthropologist

American Ethnologist

Annual Review of Anthropology

Anthropology Today

Cultural Anthropology

Current Anthropology

Ethnic and Racial Studies

Journal of Contemporary Ethnography

Race and Class