Skip to main content
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Remote Resources for a Distance Learning Environment

Get the help you need to navigate and succeed in our new online learning environment.

John Jay OER Materials

Course Conversion Project: OER and AER, John Jay College

Online seminar with valuable information on how to create zero text cost courses using OER (open educational resources) and AER (alternative educational resources such as library-licensed materials freely available to students).  Best practices in course design and pedagogy, sources for open and alternative materials with methods and platforms for delivery as well as issues on intellectual property and academic integrity.

Open Access PublishingLloyd Sealy Library Library Guides

Our Library guide on academic research products everyone can access.

Open Educational Resources, Lloyd Sealy Library Library Guides

Zero-Cost (to students) Textbook Alternatives

Our Library's guide with a wealth of information and links to freely available teaching and learning materials.  Information on Finding Library and Open Educational ResourcesOER Resources and Courses by John Jay and CUNY FacultyOER Resources by Discipline, and Fair Use and Copyright.

CUNY OER Materials

Open Ed CUNY

OpenEd CUNY is a curated digital library of open educational resources. Includes a search engine to find resources, avenues to connect with fellow CUNY educators on all things OER and an introduction to and tutorial on Open Author to create and/or remix OER materials.

Open Educational Resources (Libguide), Leonard Lief Library, Lehman College

Open Educational Resources and Zero-Cost Learning, CUNY Office of Library Services

CUNY OER Services from the Office of Library Services and campuses across CUNY including listing of CUNY Library Resources across campuses, free digital resources and links to various resources for help in creating OER courses.  

Open Access Sources

Academic Presses and Institutions, The Online Books Page

Listing and links to academic presses and institutions with substantial numbers of free online books.

CORE

Open access scholarly articles and research papers from institutions worldwide made available to the public.

Digital Commons Network

The Digital Commons Network provides free access to full-text open access research and scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Find peer-reviewed articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and more. Browse by discipline, search keywords and follow authors and publications. 

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)

Material from America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All material, including photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and more, are free and immediately available.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)

The Directory of Open Access Books provides open access to over 854 academic and peer-reviewed books. Search for a specific title or browse by subject. All books listed in DOAB are freely accessible and able to share for non-commercial use (usage rights are determined by the item's license so please check license for re-use information). 

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

Directory of Open Access Journals is a collection of approximately 12000 quality, peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.

Hathi Trust Digital Library

HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving and providing access to 17+ million public domain and in-copyright digitized items from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. 

Humanities Commons

    A non-profit, academic social networking site providing pen-access, open-source articles, monographs, book chapters, course materials, conference papers and more by humanities researchers available to read and download for free without registration. 

Internet Archive

The Internet Archive offers over 20,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts. There is also a collection of 1.3 million modern eBooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free Internet Archive virtual library account. Sign up for a free Internet Archive account.

MERLOT 

A cooperative repository of learning materials collected and contributed by MERLOT Members.  Tens of thousands of discipline-specific material (books, journals, library resources and webpages) all reviewed for suitability and many reviewed by peers.

NCBI Bookshelf (National Center for Biotechnology Information, U.S. National Library of Medicine)

Free online access to to a collection of ebooks and documents in the fields of life sciences and healthcare. Bookshelf does not claim copyright on these materials-- it remains with copyright holder. U.S. government agency books are in the public domain. 

Open Access on Muse

Project MUSE provides open access books and journals from university presses and scholarly societies with materials freely available to libraries and users around the world.

Open Textbook Library

Open access to free, openly-licensed textbooks--use, adapt and distribute freely. Download at no cost and print at low cost. All textbooks are affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization. Currently includes 721 textbooks, with more being added all the time.

Project Gutenberg

Open access library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Use a free epub or Kindle eBooks to download or read online. Features world's great literature with a focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. No fee.  No registration. No special app needed. 

PsyArXiv Preprints

Open access to reprints of working papers, unpublished work, and articles under review from scholars in the field of psychology.  

Public Books Database

In response to the COVID-19 crisis, the Public Books database provides a collection of freely accessible online materials from academic presses.

PubMed Central

PMC is a free full text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine, serving as a digital counterpart to their extensive print collection.

SocArXiv

Free, non-profit, open access site for social scientists to upload working papers, preprints, and published papers. Search using keywords/phrases or browse major subject categories.

SportRχiv

Open access repository dedicated to research in sport, exercise studies, rehabilitation and therapy through theatre, dance, and performance studies.

Standard Ebooks

The Standard Ebooks project is a volunteer driven, not-for-profit effort to produce a collection of high quality, carefully formatted, accessible, open source, and free public domain ebooks that meet or exceed the quality of commercially produced ebooks. The text and cover art in our ebooks is already believed to be in the public domain, and Standard Ebook dedicates its own work to the public domain, thus releasing whole ebooks files themselves into the public domain.

Search Engines for Open Educational Resources

OASIS or Openly Available Sources Integrated Search is a search tool for open access materials developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library. It currently searches content from 97 different sources and contains 385,629 records.

Mason OER Metafinder is a search tool to help find Open Educational Resources.  Instead of searching a static database, Mason OER Metafinder performs a real-time, simultaneous search across 22 different OER resources resulting in up-to-th-minute results. Because of that, it may take a bit longer than other searches.

MOM iconMason OER Metafinder (MOM)
 
Advanced Search

Copyright & Fair Use

Please consult our Library's Fair Use and Copyright research guide as well as referring to CUNY's Office of Library Services' page on Fair Use in the Context of Covid-19 where they summarize a Statement on Fair Use & Emergency Remote Teaching & Research recently released by library copyright specialists.

Digital Museum and Image Collections

American Museum of Natural History, New York 

Visit the Museum Library's Virtual Resources page for AMNH Scientific PublicationsAnthropological PapersDigitized Scientific Manuscripts and Digital Special Collections (historic and current images documenting the Museum's activities and collections).

British Museum, London, England

CC SEARCH

Browse over 500 million images (openly licensed and public domain works) available for reuse from Creative Commons.

Guggenheim, New York

Johannesburg Art Gallery, South Africa

Louvre, Paris, France

Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York

Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), New York

Museum of the City of New York

National Archeological Museum, Athens, Greece

National Gallery of Art, Washington, DC

National Museum of African American History & Culture, Washington, DC

National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, Korea

New York Historical Society Museum & Library

Paris Art Museum

Paris Musées, a collection of 14 museums in Paris, offer free access to high-res digital copies of 100,000 artworks from their collections. Artists include Rembrandt, Monet, Picasso, Cézanne, and thousands of others.

Prado Museum (Museo Nacional del Prado), Madrid, Spain

State Hermitage Museum, Saint Petersburg, Russia

Uffiizi Galleries, Florence, Italy

Photographic Archive and Inventories

Artwork Catalogue

Euploos (Drawing Database)

Schaltegger, M. (2020, March 13). These iconic museums offer virtual tours perfect for when you're stuck at home. Thrillist. Retrieved from https://www.thrillist.com/news/nation/virtual-museum-tours

(in part from the Hunter College Library webpage)