Skip to main content
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Remote Resources for a Distance Learning Environment

Get the help you need to navigate and succeed in our new online learning environment.

DIY Finding eBooks

Looking for an electronic version of your textbook/book?  Follow the steps below*. 

Search our Library holdings first: OneSearch is where you will find most of our ebooks. Click here for login instructions.

If that is unsuccessful, search these collections where you have expanded free access to thousands of ebooks during the COVID-19 crisis:

Ebook Central Collection

EBSCOhost ebook Academic Collection  

Emerald ebook Collection

Jstor 

Project Muse

VitalSource (register for a free account before you begin searching)

Open Library and National Emergency Library, both from the Internet Archive, are good sources for books that may not be available elsewhere.  You do not need an account to search their collections, but you will need to create one to either read on the Internet Archive book reader or download to epub/pdf. 

Lastly, you may check other sources listed in this guide under Digital TextbooksCOVID-19 Temporary and Free Resource MaterialsOpen Access eBook Sources and the New York Public Library

Or you may request a chapter from an ebook or an entire ebook via interlibrary loan. Please allow time for this option as several libraries are short-staffed and closed. We cannot guarantee that your request will be filled, but we will try our best to find a supplier.

*Please remember, not all published materials are available in electronic form!  If you cannot find an online version for a particular source your professor has assigned, please contact them directly.  You may also fill out an eBook Search Request Form or contact a librarian.

eBook Search Request Form

Looking for electronic access to a specific book you need while the library is online only?  Feel free to DIY (do it yourself) by using the steps outlined in the DIY Finding eBooks box above. 

You may also complete our eBook Search Request Form to have a Lloyd Sealy librarian search on your behalf.  We will do our best to determine if you have access to an electronic copy of the book.  We will be in touch with you as soon as we have completed a thorough search.

Please note, however, that not every print book has an electronic equivalent.

COVID-19 Temporarily Free eTextbooks and Publisher Offers

In addition to our DYI Finding eBooks box in this guide, here is an additional listing of temporarily available free access to publisher and other institutional sites that may have a particular book for which you are looking.  You may need to register or create an account to access materials.  Please be mindful that these links are for limited time access:  

Annual Reviews

Remote access to content temporarily freely available.

Cambridge Core

Access to HTML textbooks, Cambridge Histories, Cambridge Companions, and Cambridge Elements--over 2000 Cambridge University Press titles. Access is available through 29th June, 2020.  

Ebook Central Collection (formerly Ebrary)

Thousands of ebooks on scholarly subjects.  Covers a range of disciplines, including some science. During the COVID-19 outbreak, single/limited user access has been suspended.

EBSCOhost ebook Academic Collection 

Expanded access to thousands of ebooks across the disciplines available through June 20, 2020

Emerald ebook Collection

All titles available through June 2020

JSTOR ebooks 

Expanded access to thousands of ebooks through June 2020.

National Emergency Library

Digital lending library where users are offered free access to a collection of books to "support emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed."  Collection focuses on 20th century materials, including 1.4 million titles. Titles unavailable elsewhere may be available here.  Borrowing period is 2 weeks.

Norton Anthology of World Literature

Norton Anthology of World Literature is available for the rest of the semester when submitting a Support Ticket Request on their webpage.  Other Norton titles may also be available if you request a specific one.

Open Up

The Association of University Presses offers access to a wide variety of resources, books, and journals to support student learning and scholarly research in this difficult time. View their list of free resources and periods of availability from University presses.

Oxford Analytica

Expert briefings on  macro-economic and geopolitical events, prepared for global political and business leaders to help understand the implications and influence decision-making. Available through June 2020.

Paris Art Museum

Paris Musées, a collection of 14 museums in Paris, offer free access to high-res digital copies of 100,000 artworks from their collections. Artists include Rembrandt, Monet, Picasso, Cézanne, and thousands of others.

Project MUSE --In response to the crisis of COVID-19, Project MUSE is making content from several dozen scholarly publishers temporarily available for free. 

ProQuest Ebook Central 

Unlimited access to previously single-user and three-user items through mid-June for titles from over 50 publishers. 

SAGE Knowledge

Expanded access to all reference ebooks through June 24, 2020

ScienceDirect Textbooks

Free access to ScienceDirect textbooks available for 90 days.

Taylor and Francis eBooks 

Over 1,000 ebooks from the CRCnetBase database collections including FORENSICnetBASE, InfoSECURITYnetBASE, AND STATSnetBASE.

University of Michigan Press

Free-to-read titles until June 30, 2020. Please note titles are only downloadable, with the exception of some that are open access.

VitalSource

FREE access to digital textbooks until May 25th, 2020.  You may access up to seven free eBooks.  You will need to create a VitalSource account before you search for textbooks.  Click here for their video help for creating your account.  Visit their Frequently Asked Questions page for answers to what devices to use, how to download and print, etc. 

 

NOTE for faculty: Some ebooks do not allow for an unlimited number of simultaneous users.  Before assigning an ebook to an entire class, please check the title to determine how many users can simultaneously access the ebook. Ebook Central is lifting these restrictions during the COVID-19 outbreak.

 

COVID-19 Videos from Publishers

  • Psychotherapy.net all videos freely available through 23 May 2020
  • Sage Research Methods Videos all videos freely available through June 24, 2020
  • Sage videos all videos freely available through 24 June 2020
  • JoVE Videos  peer-reviewed scientific video protocols to accelerate biological, medical, chemical and physical research free to use in STEM teaching efforts through 15 June 2020. Note: to access JOVE content you do not need to set up an account but you are free to do so.

Open Access Ebooks

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)

DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.

DOAB

DOAB (Directory of Open Access Books) provides open access to over 854 Academic peer-reviewed books from 25 publishers.

DOAJ

DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) is a collection of peer-reviewed open access e-journals

Hathi Trust Digital Library

a repository providing access to public domain and in-copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.

Internet Archive

The Internet Archive offers over 20,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts. There is also a collection of 1.3 million modern eBooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free archive.org account.

NCBI Bookshelf

free online access to ebooks and documents in life sciences and healthcare.

Project Gutenberg

library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. Thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the eBooks, for enjoyment and education.

Project Muse

open access ebooks from university presses and scholarly societies.

Standard Ebooks

The Standard Ebooks project is a volunteer driven, not-for-profit effort to produce a collection of high quality, carefully formatted, accessible, open source, and free public domain ebooks that meet or exceed the quality of commercially produced ebooks. The text and cover art in our ebooks is already believed to be in the public domain, and Standard Ebook dedicates its own work to the public domain, thus releasing whole ebooks files themselves into the public domain.

Search Engines for Open Educational Resources

OASIS or Openly Available Sources Integrated Search is a search tool for open access materials developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library. It currently searches content from 97 different sources and contains 385,629 records.

Mason OER Metafinder is a search tool to help find Open Educational Resources.  Instead of searching a static database, Mason OER Metafinder performs a real-time, simultaneous search across 22 different OER resources resulting in up-to-th-minute results. Because of that, it may take a bit longer than other searches.

MOM iconMason OER Metafinder (MOM)
 
Advanced Search

CUNY Guides to Open Educational and Zero-Cost Resources

Zero-Cost (to students) Textbook AlternativesOur Library's guide with a wealth of information and links to freely available teaching and learning materials.  

CUNY's Office of Library Services guide to CUNY Open Educational Resources (OER), Zero-Cost library resources, and other links to free resources during the COVID-19 pandemic. Find a search engine for finding Open Educational Resources, their listings to Openly Available Textbook resources and Publicly Available Research.

Links to Other Sites with Free Resources

Vendor Love in the Time of COVID-19 - A Google Doc with a list of the offers from our various vendors

ICOLC COVID 19 Complimentary Expanded Access Specifics - A Google Doc with specifics on how to access various resources

VideoLib's Special Streaming Offers during Covid19 Cheat Sheet - compiled list of streaming videos offers

Open Content from American University Presses during COVID-19 -  lists American University  presses and where they have made their ebooks available during COVID-19

Digital Museum Collections

*American Museum of Natural History, New York

British Museum, London, England

Guggenheim, New York

Johannesburg Art Gallery, South Africa

Louvre, Paris, France

Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York

Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), New York

Museum of the City of New York

National Archeological Museum, Athens, Greece

National Gallery of Art, Washington, DC

National Museum of African American History & Culture, Washington, DC

National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, Korea

New York Historical Society Museum & Library

Prado Museum (Museo Nacional del Prado), Madrid, Spain

State Hermitage Museum, Saint Petersburg, Russia

Uffiizi Galleries, Florence, Italy

*(from the Hunter College Library webpage)

 

Schaltegger, M. (2020, March 13). These iconic museums offer virtual tours perfect for when you're stuck at home. Thrillist. Retrieved from https://www.thrillist.com/news/nation/virtual-museum-tours