Skip to main content
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Remote Resources for a Distance Learning Environment: Finding Articles

Get the help you need to navigate and succeed in our new online learning environment.

Finding Articles in Library Databases

You can access online magazine/journal/newspaper articles remotely through OneSearch OR  by searching within one of our many databases

Using OneSearch, type in your keyword(s) and/or phrase(s)* and limit your search to Articles, specifying Peer-reviewed, if you'd like, in order to find articles on your topic (see Articles selected below):

Although anyone off campus can search for materials in OneSearch, however, most electronic articles come from our library databases where material is restricted and you may be prompted to login. Please refer to the Off Campus Access tab in this libguide for detailed login information.

 

To access one of one of our library databases, click Databases from our Library's homepage.  Click inside the pulldown menu marked Select from popular databases, or choose from our list of databases by subject or title:

Database search box

Electronic materials from our library databases are generally restricted to the John Jay College community for remote access so you may be prompted to loginPlease refer to the Off Campus Access tab in this libguide for detailed login information.

Databases may cover one subject, or many simultaneously.  They may be comprised of just one type of information (only newspapers, videos, or statistics for example) or contain many kinds of sources (magazines, newspapers, journals, videos, etc.).  Choose databases by determining your subject and also by what kind of information you are seeking.

Some of our popular databases are:

Academic Search Complete (covers multiple subjects and includes newspapers, magazine, and scholarly journals)

APA PsycInfo (journals, books, dissertations, conferences and more in the field of psychology)

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (criminal justice academic journals and professional/trade publications)

Gale EBooks (specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical directories covering most subjects) 

NexisUni (legal, business and news sources worldwide)

SocINDEX with Full Text (social science journals)

 

*Refer to the Keyword Searching box below to help with your search strategy.

What is a Scholarly Journal?

Journal cover

Scholarly, Peer Reviewed and/or Refereed Journals generally have:

  • Original research
  • Rigorous acceptance process by scholars in the field
  • Author’s credentials presented
  • Abstract (summary), footnotes/endnotes, bibliography

Keyword Searching

When searching library databases think of as many combinations of words and/or phrases that accurately describe your topic.  Start with keyword(s) and/or phrase(s) that are as specific as possible:

prisoner reentry and voting privileges

female offenders and pregnancy

If you are dissatisfied with your search results, broaden your search by using alternative keywords and phrases:

prisoner disenfranchisement or felony disenfranchisement

female prisoners and (motherhood or pregnancy)

No Full Text Available

If there are no full text options available from the Lloyd Sealy Library, you may request articles from other libraries through our Interlibrary Loan service.  Register for an account using your John Jay email username and password (excluding the @jjay.cuny.edu).  If you do not know your John Jay email username and/or password, or if you're having difficulty logging in, you may reset your email account by going to reset.jjay.cuny.edu or email the John Jay Technology Helpdesk for assistance at helpdesk@jjay.cuny.edu.  Once you register, you can request articles.  You will receive an email, generally within one week, that the article is available in your ILL account and ready to download.  

Find it!

Remember, not every database is full text, meaning that sometimes they are finding aids and the actual article you want may be found in another database or on a different webpage.  If you do not see a full text link (either PDF or HTML) for a specific article in one of our databases:

Click to determine if the full text is available elsewhere:

 

 

Once you click on Find it! @ CUNY, your browser will open another window showing full text options if available. If there are no full text options available from our library, you may request articles from other libraries through our Interlibrary Loan service.  You will receive an email, generally within one week, that the article is available in your ILL account and ready to download.