Skip to main content
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Remote Resources for a Distance Learning Environment

Get the help you need to navigate and succeed in our new online learning environment.

DIY Finding eBooks

Looking for an electronic version of your textbook/book?  Follow the steps below*. 

Search our Library holdings first: OneSearch is where you will find most of our ebooks. Click here for login instructions.

If that is unsuccessful, search these collections where you have expanded free access to thousands of ebooks during the COVID-19 crisis:

Ebook Central Collection

EBSCOhost ebook Academic Collection  

Emerald ebook Collection

Jstor Books expanded access program, including over 32,000 ebooks from 48 publishers, available at no charge for participating academic institutions and secondary schools through August 31, 2020.

Project Muse

Open Library, from the Internet Archive, is a good sources for books that may not be available elsewhere.  You do not need an account to search their collection, but you will need to create an Open Library account to either read on the Internet Archive book reader or download to epub/pdf. 

Lastly, you may check other sources listed in this guide under Digital TextbooksCOVID-19 Temporary and Free Resource MaterialsOpen Access eBook Sources and the New York Public Library

Or you may request a chapter from an ebook or an entire ebook via interlibrary loan. Please allow time for this option as several libraries are short-staffed and closed. We cannot guarantee that your request will be filled, but we will try our best to find a supplier.

*Please remember, not all published materials are available in electronic form!  If you cannot find an online version for a particular source your professor has assigned, please contact them directly.  You may also fill out an eBook Search Request Form or contact a librarian.

eBook Search Request Form

Looking for electronic access to a specific book you need while the library is online only?  Feel free to DIY (do it yourself) by using the steps outlined in the DIY Finding eBooks box above. 

You may also complete our eBook Search Request Form to have a Lloyd Sealy librarian search on your behalf.  We will do our best to determine if you have access to an electronic copy of the book.  We will be in touch with you as soon as we have completed a thorough search.

Please note, however, that not every print book has an electronic equivalent.

How to Find eBooks Available from the Lloyd Sealy Library

The library has a vast collection of ebooks that are available remotely .  Use OneSearch from our library's homepage to find them.  Limit to Books (under the search box) if you wish to find books only and then check the box to the left of the search results to limit your results to "Full text only".

OneSearch search box

 

 

Login for eBooks in OneSearch

Anyone off campus can search for materials in OneSearch, however, most electronic resources come from our library databases where material is restricted to John Jay and/or CUNY users. You may be prompted to login to our John Jay login page: 

 

 

Enter your username as your firstname.lastname from your John Jay email account.  Do not include the @ sign or "jjay.cuny.edu."  For example, John Smith's email is  john.smith@jjay.cuny.edu.  Therefore, enter "john.smith."  Do not worry about capitalization. 

The password to enter is the password for your John Jay email address.  If you are new to John Jay College or you are having problems with your login, go to reset.jjay.cuny.edu to create or change your password.  If you are still experiencing difficulties, contact the DoIt helpdesk at 212.237.8200 or  helpdesk@jjay.cuny.edu.

If you are directed to log into OneSearch:

 

 

Use the library barcode on the back of your John Jay College ID card.  If you do not have a library barcode, or if your barcode is not working, please contact a John Jay librarian via email or chat.

 

eBook Collections

In addition to searching for ebooks in OneSearch, our library has separate collections of electronic booksFind those ebook collections in our Ebooks libguide.  Here are links to a few of those collections:

  • eBook Central (formerly Ebrary)—  thousands of ebooks on scholarly subjects.  Covers a range of disciplines, including some science. During the COVID-19 outbreak, ebooks, single user or limited user access has been suspended.
  • ACLS Humanities E-Book is an online collection of over 5,400 books in the humanities and related social sciences. 
  • PsycBooks is a collection of books published by the APA, including 700 classics and more than 1,500 authored entries from the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.
  • Taylor and Francis eBooks  —  over 1,000 ebooks from the CRCnetBase database collections including FORENSICnetBASE, InfoSECURITYnetBASE, AND STATSnetBASE.

 

Please visit additional ebook resources listed in this guide under COVID-19 Temporarily Free eTextbooks and Publisher Offers as well as Open Access Ebook Sources below.

NOTE for faculty: A majority of our ebooks allow for an unlimited number of simultaneous users, however there are exceptions.  Before assigning an ebook to an entire class, please check the title to determine how many users can simultaneously access the ebook. Ebook Central is lifting these restrictions during the COVID-19 outbreak.

Downloading/Saving eBooks

All of our Library's electronic books can be read online as long as you are connected to the internet.  Most of our ebooks can also be downloaded in one of two ways:

  1. As a PDF image that can be read with Adobe Reader software that lets you read, search, print, and interact with virtually any type of PDF file, or 
  2. Using Adobe Digital Editions, which is a freely available system for viewing  and managing ebooks, that must be installed on your device.

Ebooks downloaded as PDFs can typically only be downloaded a chapter at a time which you may save to your device and the file never expires.

Ebooks downloaded using Adobe Digital Editions can usually be downloaded in their entirety, however, it will expire after a set period of time, just as you have to return print books that are borrowed from your library.

Click here for a step-to-step guide for accessing, reading and downloading ebooks.

NYPL/BKLN/QUEENS Public Libraries

Free access to many digital resources (including some textbooks) is available from NYC's 3 distinct public library systems:  NYPL (New York Public Library), Brooklyn Public Library and Queens Public Library.  Use your public library card to create an account and gain access.  If you do not have a public library card, see the information below for each library system on how to obtain a library card during their COVID-19 closures.

New York Public Library serves Manhattan, the Bronx and Staten Island.  NYPL has a wide range of digital resources —e-books, audiobooks, databases, the Research Library's Digital Collections, and more. Click here for information En españolIf you do not have a public library card, during their period of closure due to COVID-19, you can apply through their SimplyE app

If you do not have a library card, to Brooklyn Public Library, you may apply for their eCard in order to access their many free electronic resources.

During the COVID-19 closures, Queens Public Library has expanded access to their collections of digital materials which includes thousands of free eBooks, audiobooks, eMagazines, songs, movies, and videos. Apply for an eCard online while libraries are closed.

Open Access Ebook Sources

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)

Material from America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All material, including photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and more, are free and immediately available.

DOAB

Directory of Open Access Books provides open access to over 854 Academic peer-reviewed books from 25 publishers.

DOAJ

Directory of Open Access Journals is a collection of peer-reviewed open access e-journals.

Hathi Trust Digital Library

A repository providing access to public domain and in-copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.

Internet Archive

The Internet Archive offers over 20,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts. There is also a collection of 1.3 million modern eBooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free archive.org account.

NCBI Bookshelf

Free online access to ebooks and documents in life sciences and healthcare.

Open Access on Project Muse

Open access books from Project Muse from several distinguished university presses and scholarly societies.

Open Textbook Library

Open access to textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. Download at no cost and print at low cost. All textbooks are affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization. Currently includes 721 textbooks, with more being added all the time.

Project Gutenberg

Open access library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Use a free epub or Kindle eBooks to download or read online. Features world's great literature with a focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.

Project Muse

Open access ebooks from university presses and scholarly societies.

Public Books Database

A collection of open access books published by University presses.

Standard Ebooks

The Standard Ebooks project is a volunteer driven, not-for-profit effort to produce a collection of high quality, carefully formatted, accessible, open source, and free public domain ebooks that meet or exceed the quality of commercially produced ebooks. The text and cover art in our ebooks is already believed to be in the public domain, and Standard Ebook dedicates its own work to the public domain, thus releasing whole ebooks files themselves into the public domain.

COVID-19 Temporarily Free eTextbooks and Publisher Offers

In addition to our DYI Finding eBooks box in this guide, here is an additional listing of temporarily available free access to publisher and other institutional sites that may have a particular book for which you are looking.  You may need to register or create an account to access materials.  Please be mindful that these links are for limited time access:  

Annual Reviews

Remote access to content temporarily freely available.

Cambridge Core

Access to HTML textbooks, Cambridge Histories, Cambridge Companions, and Cambridge Elements--over 2000 Cambridge University Press titles. Access is available through 29th June, 2020.  

Ebook Central Collection (formerly Ebrary)

Thousands of ebooks on scholarly subjects.  Covers a range of disciplines, including some science. During the COVID-19 outbreak, single/limited user access has been suspended.

JSTOR ebooks 

Expanded access to thousands of ebooks through June 2020.

Norton Anthology of World Literature

Norton Anthology of World Literature is available for the rest of the semester when submitting a Support Ticket Request on their webpage.  Other Norton titles may also be available if you request a specific one.

Open Up

The Association of University Presses offers access to a wide variety of resources, books, and journals to support student learning and scholarly research in this difficult time. View their list of free resources and periods of availability from University presses.

Oxford Analytica

Expert briefings on  macro-economic and geopolitical events, prepared for global political and business leaders to help understand the implications and influence decision-making. Available through June 2020.

Paris Art Museum

Paris Musées, a collection of 14 museums in Paris, offer free access to high-res digital copies of 100,000 artworks from their collections. Artists include Rembrandt, Monet, Picasso, Cézanne, and thousands of others.

Project MUSE --In response to the crisis of COVID-19, Project MUSE is making content from several dozen scholarly publishers temporarily available for free.

SAGE Knowledge

Expanded access to all reference ebooks through June 24, 2020

ScienceDirect Textbooks

Free access to ScienceDirect textbooks available for 90 days.

Taylor and Francis eBooks 

Over 1,000 ebooks from the CRCnetBase database collections including FORENSICnetBASE, InfoSECURITYnetBASE, AND STATSnetBASE.

University of Michigan Press

Free-to-read titles until June 30, 2020. Please note titles are only downloadable, with the exception of some that are open access.

 

NOTE for faculty: Some ebooks do not allow for an unlimited number of simultaneous users.  Before assigning an ebook to an entire class, please check the title to determine how many users can simultaneously access the ebook. Ebook Central is lifting these restrictions during the COVID-19 outbreak.