Skip to main content
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Remote Resources for a Distance Learning Environment: Off Campus Access

Get the help you need to navigate and succeed in our new online learning environment.

Electronic Resources

The Lloyd Sealy Library has a wealth of electronic information and resources available to access remotely 24/7 for members of the John Jay College community.  There are electronic books, academic journals, magazines, newspapers, videos, subject research guides, citation guides, statistics, tutorials, etc.  Please see the appropriate section of this research guide for information on how to locate and access these specific types of materials.  If you need assistance finding or accessing these materials please remember there are librarians available via chat and/or email to help you.

Many internet providers are offering free wifi and internet service to students for a limited time.  Please see the More Free Resources tab of this library guide for more information.

Who Can Access Online Materials

Who can use library resources remotely?

Lloyd Sealy Library electronic resources are accessible from off campus to current John Jay College students, faculty and staff provided they have a John Jay College email account.  If you are a current member of the John Jay College community and do not have or do not know your John Jay email account OR if you are experiencing problems with that account, please send an email to helpdesk@jjay.cuny.edu.

How to Access Materials in OneSearch

OneSearch allows you to search for books (both in the John Jay library and all CUNY libraries) as well as materials found in our library databases, such as articles and videos, and more all in one place (for more information on using OneSearch please visit the Finding Library eBooks tab in this research guide).  Anyone off campus can search for materials in OneSearch, however, most electronic resources come from our library databases where material is restricted to John Jay and/or CUNY users. You may be prompted to login to our John Jay login page: 

 

 

Enter your username as your firstname.lastname from your John Jay email account.  Do not include the @ sign or "jjay.cuny.edu."  For example, John Smith's email is  john.smith@jjay.cuny.edu.  Therefore, enter "john.smith."  Do not worry about capitalization. 

The password to enter is the password you created for your John Jay email address.  If you never changed it, the initial password is jj plus the last 4 digits of your social security number, i.e. jj1234.  Passwords must be changed every 90 days.  So remember to enter your current working password.

If you don't remember your email password or it's not working and you need to change it, use the password reset site at http://reset.jjay.cuny.edu and enter your new password.  If you need help with your John Jay email account, please send an email to the DoIt helpdesk:  helpdesk@jjay.cuny.edu.

You may be directed to log into OneSearch:

 

 

Use the library barcode on the back of your John Jay College ID card.  If you do not have a library barcode, or if your barcode is not working, please contact a John Jay librarian via email or chat.

 

How to Access Database Materials

Many of our electronic resources are available through our numerous databases (for information on accessing specific types of electronic material or finding resources on a specific subject see the appropriate tab in this research guide).  

Once you click on a database title, you will be directed to a login page and prompted for a username and password:

You username is your firstname.lastname (along with any additional numbers) in your email address.  Do not include the @ sign or jjay.cuny.edu.  For example, John Smith's email is john.smith@jjay.cuny.edu.  Therefore, the username to enter is simply "john.smith."  Do not worry about capitalization. 

The password to enter is the password you created for your John Jay email address.  If you never changed it, the initial password is jj plus the last 4 digits of your social security number, i.e. jj1234.  Passwords must be changed every 90 days.  So remember to enter your current working password.

If you don't remember your email password or it's not working and you need to change it, use the password reset site at http://reset.jjay.cuny.edu and enter your new password.  If you need help with your John Jay email account, please send an email to the DoIt helpdesk:  helpdesk@jjay.cuny.edu.

For any reason the John Jay Library web pages are not available, try accessing CUNY-wide databases from the Office of Library Services Databases & more webpage.  Once you click on a database title, you will be asked to login.  Use your library barcode on the back of your John Jay College ID card to login through this CUNY electronic resources webpage:

 

Barcode Login for CUNY Databases & More

If you do not have a library barcode, or if your barcode is not working, please contact a John Jay librarian via email or chat.