Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Library Exhibits

Guide for Library Research on Past and Current Library Exhibits

Librarian

Insert Picture Here
 
Ellen Belcher
Contact Info
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice
899 Tenth Ave
New York City 10019
(212)237-8238
Send Email
Exhibits:
Women's History Month

2005 Exhibit Brochure

This exhibit was installed in the Niederhoffer Lounge Exhibit Cases in 2005

Women 2005

WOMEN

An Exhibit of Selected Books and Images by and About Women to Commemorate:

WOMEN’S HISTORY MONTH

Lloyd Sealy Library

John Jay College of Criminal Justice

 A checklist of items on display

By Ellen Belcher

Women in Criminal Justice

Police Dept. Photo, June 22, 1931

Photograph of Policewoman Carrie Whalen and Patrolman De Cicci at the Center for Lost Children, Coney Island.

Joseph P. Riccio Collection of Police Images. Lloyd Sealy Library Special Collections

 

Group Photo, 1978 IAWP meeting, St. Paul

Women in Law Enforcement.

IAWP: International Assoc. of Women Police Collection. Lloyd Sealy Library Special Collections

 

Rafter, Nicole Hahn 1990

Partial Justice: Women, Prisons, and Social Control.

New Brunswick: Transaction Publishers. On Reserve: HV9466 .R35 1990

 

Susan Hagen and Mary Carouba 2002

Women at Ground Zero: Stories of Courage and Compassion.

Indianapolis: Alpha Books. Stacks: HV6432.7 .W65 2002

 

Tammy Proctor 2003

Female Intelligence: Women and Espionage in the First World War.

New York University Press. Stacks: D639 .S7 P76 2003

 

Dorothy Moses Shulz 2004

Breaking the Brass Ceiling: Women Police Chiefs & Their Paths to the Top.

New York: Praege. Stacks:  HV8139 .S33 2004

 

Barbara Raffel Price & Natalie Sokoloff 2004

The Criminal Justice System and Women: Offenders, Prisoners, Victims & Workers.

New York: McGraw Hill. On Reserve: HV9950 .C743234 2004

Women: Criminals and Victims

Anonymous 1833

A Fac-Simile of the Letters Produced at the Trial of the Rev. Ephraim K. Avery on an Indictment for the Murder of Sarah Maria Cornell…

Newport: David Melvill 1833

Lloyd Sealy Library Special Collections. Anonymous broadside, circa 1833

 

The Death of Sarah M. Cornell.

Broadside Collection. Lloyd Sealy Library Special Collections

 

Cesare Lombroso & Guglielmo Ferrero 1893

Criminal Woman, The Prostitute, and the Normal Woman. [2004 translation by Nichole Hahn Rafter & Mary Gibson]

Durham: Duke University Press, 2004. Stacks: HV6046 .L7813 2004

 

Clifford Roe 1911

The Great War on White Slavery or Fighting for the Protection of Our Girls.  The Truthful and Chaste Account of the Hideous Trade of Buying and Selling Young Girls for Immoral Purposes… Stacks: HQ111 .R6 1979

 

Netley Lucas 1927

Ladies of the Underworld: The Beautiful, the Damned, and Those Who Get Away with it. New York: J.H. Sears & Company. Stacks: HV6046 .L84 1927b

Joseph Shearling 1937

The Lady and the Arsenic: The Life and Death of A Romantic, Marie Chappel, Madame Lafarge London: Heinemann, Ltd.

Stacks: PQ2323.L5 B6 1937S

 

Stanbury Thompson 1940

The Story of Jenny Driver: A Memoir of a Famous Female Criminal.

London: Arthur H Stockwell. Lloyd Sealy Library Special Collections

 

Lady Beware: If Attacked…

Undated pamphlet, Norfolk Police

IAWP: International Assoc. of Women Police Collection. Lloyd Sealy Library Special Collections

 

Freda Adler 1976

Sisters in Crime: The Rise of the New Female Criminal. New York: McGraw Hill. Stacks: HV6791 .A55 1976

 

Eleanor M. Miller 1986

Street Woman. Philadelphia: Temple University Press. Stacks: HV6046 .M47 1986

 

Christine Stansell 1986

City of Women: Sex and Class in New York, 1789-1860. New York: Knopf. Stacks HD6096.N6 S8 1986

 

Laura Hapke 1989

Girls who Went Wrong: Prostitutes in American Fiction, 1885-1917.

Bowling Green State Univ. Popular Press. Stacks: PS374 .P67 H37 1989

Women in Prison

Anonymous 1859

Wrecks and Rescues. By a Early Member of the Board of Managers of the A.F.G.S.

New York: American Female Guardian Society. Lloyd Sealy Library Special Collections

 

Edward Rider 1883

Elizabeth Fry: Life and Labors of the Eminent Philanthropist, Preacher and Prison Reformer. (Frontispiece)

Pawling, NY: P.H. Smith. Lloyd Sealy Library Special Collections 

 

Sarah M. Victor 1887

The Life Story of Sarah M. Victor for Sixty Years.  Convicted of Murdering her Brother, Sentenced to be Hung, Had Sentence Commuted, Passed Nineteen Years in Prison, Yet is Innocent…

Cleveland: William Publishing Co. Collection of Dr. Larry E. Sullivan

 

H. F. Jamison 1953

Venus in Chains: Under the Lash of the Devil Law.

Boarshead Books. Collection of Dr. Larry E. Sullivan

 

Joan Henry 1964

Yield to the Night.

Garden City, NY: Doubleday. Lloyd Sealy Library Special Collections

 

Don Johns 1964

Passion Behind Bars.

New York: L.S. Publications. Collection of Dr. Larry E. Sullivan

 

Idella Sema 1992.

Locked Down: A Lesbian In Prison.

Norwich, Vt.: New Victoria Publishers. Stacks: HV9468 .S37 1992

 

Beth Thielen 1997

Spirit Chain.

An Artist-in-Residence at the California Rehabilitation Center in Norco, Thielen worked with female inmates to write, draw, print and bind this edition of 25 copies. Collection of Dr. Larry E. Sullivan

 

Asha Bandele 2000

The Prisoner's Wife: A Memoir.

New York: Washington Square Press. Stacks PS 3552 .A47527 Z47 2000

 

L. Mara Dodge 2004

Whores and Thieves of the Worst Kind: A Study of Women, Crime and Prisons, 1835-2000.

Northern Illinois University Press. Stacks HV9475.I3 .D64 2004