LibGuides: Primary Sources: Amplifying marginalized voices

Amplifying marginalized voices

Selected databases of note at the Lloyd Sealy Library

Related research guides:

Virginia Tech: Historically Marginalized Communities Resources in Special Collections and University Archives
George Mason University: Finding Diverse Voices in Academic Research (see esp. Find resources and primary sources tab)
West Virginia U: Primary Source Research: Archival Silences
SUNY Fredonia: Diversify Your Syllabi
U of Minnesota: Diversity Your Syllabus (see esp. #___ Syllabus [topical syllabi]
- Suggested keywords and search terms
From CHOICE/ Association of College and Research Libraries / How to Uncover Diverse Voices for Research and Teaching: Strategies with Primary Source Archives
CUNY Grad Center’s Guide on Diversifying Syllabi

Centro: Center for Puerto Rican Studies at Hunter College
Women's Activism NYC The NYC Department of Records and Information Services created WomensActivism.NYC to honor the anniversary of women winning the right to vote in New York State in 1917 and in the United States in 1920. We’re writing everyday extraordinary women into #herstory. Share a story.
Dominican Studies Institute at City College
Lesbian Herstory Archives
Digital Transgender Archives
Interference Archive, a volunteer-run project located in Brooklyn (open to all visitors without appointment) documenting the history of social movements

ArchiveGrid, a mega database of archives
WorldCat.org, a mega databases of library catalogs, filter for Format > Archival Material
#Blacklivesmatter Library Resource List
Rocksborough-Smith, Ian. “Using Primary Sources to Research Marginalized Groups” AM Research Methods (A useful tool for those teaching students how to use and evaluate primary sources; Contact Kathleen for PDF: kcollins@jjay.cuny.edu)