LibGuides: Primary Sources: Historical Newspapers

Chronicling America from the Library of Congress

Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress (LOC). Learn more

Hundreds of early illustrated supplements from American newspapers are on the LOC Flickr Commons

The Library of Congress also offers links to newspaper photo morgues by state held by LOC and other repositories, a few of which are digitized.

Newspapers at John Jay College Library

The Lloyd Sealy Library subscribes to many Newspaper Databases including:

Burney Newspaper Collection--17th and 18th Centuries A comprehensive collection of early English newspapers from London, the British Isles, and colonies, including many American titles.

New York Times Historical Full text of articles and page images of The New York Times from 1851 to 2008.

New York State Newspapers which offers access to a few dozen newspapers from NY State, including the Buffalo News, the Syracuse Herald American, the New York Post and the New York Observer.

The Library also has an extensive collection of prison/er newspapers and magazines

Log into these databases using your John Jay email and password if you are off campus.

The Special Collections holds full runs of newspapers published at John Jay College including the Student Newspaper and Law Enforcement News, which are also available on microfilm. We also hold collections of Prisoner Newspapers and NYPD newspapers and newsletters. Please contact the special collections for more information.

Newspapers at New York Public Library

Paperless Research: Researching and Finding Historical Newspapers in NYPL by Raymond Pun, Stephen A. Schwarzman Building, General Research Division

This helpful blog entry gives you tips on using NYPL's vast collections of local, regional and international newspapers in many formats. You will need a NYPL library card if you don't already have one to log into the newspaper databases.

Additional Newspaper Resources

The Black Press Research Collective is dedicated to generating digital scholarship and archiving the Black Press to preserve the significance of the historical and contemporary role of black newspapers in Africa and the African Diasporas.

Old Fulton Newspapers offers a search of over 21,790,000 Old New York State Historical Newspaper Pages.

Brooklyn Daily Eagle Online from covers the period from October 26, 1841 to December 31, 1902. The Brooklyn Public Library also has digitized the photo collections from the Brooklyn Daily Eagle

Cornell University Libraries offers an extensive guide to digitally available newspapers featuring NY State newspapers, and African American newspapers please note: a few of the digital resources are only available to Cornell patrons by log in.