Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Journalism and digital media resources: Reading the news

Fact checking and fake news

The Research Center at the CUNY Graduate School of Journalism created this guide to help reporters in this era of "fake news." You can use it as a news consumer and a writer and reporter yourself.

Millennials and the news

This brief research article from The Atlantic reveals that millennials (maybe you?) like to read columns of print-like text, much like their grandparents. Who knew?

News literacy matters

Evaluating information sources is always an important skill to use when doing research, but it is also essential as a citizen. Here's a guide to help.

Take a look, too, at the Fact checking, verification and fake news guide for more tips and resources. 

 

News sources: Get top stories fast

GlobalPost A Web-based news organization providing international news coverage via a team of in-country correspondents.

Google News Search and browse thousands of news sources updated continuously.

HeadlineSpot Links to U.S. and international news sources organized by location, subject, or media type.

Newseum Newspaper front pages daily.

newsmap A visual representation of the information gathered by the Google News news aggregator. Intended to reveal the underlying patterns in news reporting across cultures and within news segments.

popurls Billed as "the genuine news aggregator for the latest web buzz," the site aggregates headlines from diverse internet sources.

Reuters An international news agency with up-to-date news from around the world.

New York Times Journalists on Twitter A directory of active New York Times journalists and newsroom accounts on Twitter.

Search the news via LexisNexis

Search News on LexisNexis Academic
 
About LexisNexis|Terms and Conditions|Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2012 LexisNexis, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

 

 

For additional searching options in the database, go to the main search page.

Databases available at John Jay

This is a list of newspaper databases available at the library.

Historical and archived news sources

Google News Search and browse thousands of news sources updated continuously. Supplemented by the Google News Archive Search which allows searching of both free and fee-based historical content.

University of Pennsylvania Guide to Historical Newspapers Online. Search by region; available dates included in description of each title.

Library of Congress Guide to Newspaper Archive Sources on the Web

New York Times Historical (library database) Full text from 1851-2008

C-SPAN Archives Coverage of the U.S. House of Representatives; public affairs programming.