Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Journalism and digital media resources: Finding data

Books and eBooks

Understanding Crime Statistics by James Lynch (call number HV6787 .U52. Ebook also available.)

Freedom of Information Act

See our FOIA guide for information on how to access records of the executive branch of the United States federal government.

Graduate School of Journalism Guide

Many of the resources provided at the CUNY Graduate School of Journalism are available to John Jay students, too. Take a look!

NYC Open Data

Looking for story ideas? Follow I Quant NY, a blog created by a stats professor, for a heads up on some interesting topics based on open New York City data. For instance, In NYC, more robberies happen right when school gets out than any other time.

Statistics and government info.

These resources can be useful for finding data to support writing and reporting.

Library databases

Business Source Complete (EBSCOHost) Provides full text for over 3,000 peer-reviewed journals and magazines, as well as country and industry reports, and case studies covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more.

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) Comprehensive source for theory and research in foreign affairs; includes working papers from university research institutes and NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and conference proceedings.

Econlit Indexes and abstracts more than 450 international economic journals, and includes includes journal articles, essays, research papers, books, dissertations, book reviews, and working papers; 1969- .

Infoshare Online Has population statistics, immigration trends, socio-economic indicators, birth and death data, hospitalizations, local economic data, and more for New York City.

Social Explorer Displays interactive maps of U.S. Census data going back to 1940 (for NYC back to 1910). All CUNY users have access to the subscription data.

Urban Studies Abstracts Database with abstracts of articles and reports about crime and other urban problems, possible solutions, studies of police departments, social welfare agencies, etc. Links to fulltext for many items.

USA Counties Compiles useful demographic, economic, and governmental information spanning several years and sources for county comparisons and profiles.

Ask a John Jay Librarian

Loading...