Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Ethnic Studies: Multicultural America

Online Access to NYPL Resources

Create a free New York Public Library account to gain free access to many digital resources (including some textbooks) available from NYPL.  New York State residents and students are eligible for a NYPL library card (in addition to Brooklyn and Queens Public library resources). 

If you do not have a public library card, see the information below for each library system on how to obtain a library card and access materials remotely:

New York Public Library serves Manhattan, the Bronx and Staten Island.  NYPL has a wide range of digital resources —e-books, audiobooks, databases, the Research Library's Digital Collections, and more. Click here for information en españolIf you do not have a public library card, during their period of closure due to COVID-19, you can apply through their SimplyE app

Brooklyn Public Library serves those in the borough of Brooklyn. If you do not have a library card, you may apply for their eCard in order to have remote access to their many free electronic resources.

During the COVID-19 closures, Queens Public Library has expanded access to their collections of digital materials which includes thousands of free eBooks, audiobooks, eMagazines, songs, movies, and videos. Apply for an eCard online while libraries are closed.

New York Public Library Resources

Logon to these NYPL digital resources after creating an online account with your free NYPL card:

The American Mosaic: The American Indian Experience

The American Indian Experience, part of The American Mosaic, is a digital collection of resources that illuminates the histories and contemporary cultures of the Native peoples of North America.  View the Research Lists below for additional information.

Aztec Society, Religion, and Culture

Mound Builders

Early Native Societies, Precontact-250

Captivity Narratives

The American Mosaic: The Latino-American Experience

The Latino American Experience, part of The American Mosaic, is the "latest version of the first-ever database dedicated to the history and culture of Latinos—the largest, fastest growing minority group in the United States."  View the Research Lists below for additional information.

The Inca Empire

The Maya Empire

The Aztec Empire

Encomienda System

Indigenous Peoples of North America:

As part of the Gale Primary Sources database, this digital collection provides documentation relating to the "historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada" through manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more.