Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

U.S. Elections 1972-2020: Databases and Journals

Guide for Library Research on US Elections from 1972-2020

Databases and Journals

Books While You Wait

On this page you will find databases and ways to search for journals related to political science and elections.

Business Source Complete

Business Source Complete

Business Source Complete
Full text of peer-reviewed journals and magazines, country and industry reports, and case studies covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more.

Search JSTOR

CQ Press Voting and Elections Collection

CQ Researcher

CQ Press Voting and Elections Collection

Find data and analysis on all aspects of American elections. Provides in-depth insight into the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships. A video tutorital on how to use this collection can be found at https://youtu.be/abOfvhakHg8

Search Films On Demand database

Search for Videos at the Library

The Library's collections include streaming video, streaming audio, DVDs, VHS, and CDs. Search our media collection here.

Advanced search

Search America History and Life Database

To search through the America History and Life database for articles and other material, simply enter in a keyword into the search box below.

America: History and Life

Search Biography Reference Center

To search through the EbscoHost Biography Reference Center for biographies and other materials, simply enter in a keyword into the search box below.

Biography Reference Center

Vital Statistics on American Politics

Vital Statistics on American Elections

Vital Statistics on American Politics
Provides summary data on political behavior such as voter turnout, election results, public opinion, media trends, campaign financing and more. Some charts provide data from the 1790s but most focus on the 1940s to 2012. Data can be downloaded.

Journal Search

To find an online journal available in the Lloyd Sealy collection, simply enter a title into the search box below.

Search for Journal Titles


Search Gale Virtual Reference Library

To search through Gale Virtual Reference Library for more information on these or any other topic that interests you, simply enter in a keyword into the search box above.

PsycInfo

PsycINFO

Psycinfo
The most comprehensive index and access to materials in psychology articles and books. Coverage from 1887 to the present.