LibGuides: New York City: Research and History: Books and Databases

Statistics

NYC Population Statistics

Below are a variety of links to statistical websites related to New York City:

American Fact Finder
Browse, search, and map data from Census Bureau sources, including the Census, the Economic Census, and the annual American Community Survey (ACS)
Center for Urban Research
The Center for Urban Research at the Graduate Center, City University of New York, organizes research on the critical issues that face New York.
Census - My Congressional District
From U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey. Population, housing, employment, economic statistics on each Congressional district.
Local, State, and Federal Government Data
Provided by the U.S. Census Bureau, this page offers federal, state, and local government, tax, finance, criminal justice, retirement, education, and economic data.
NYC Data
This compendium of data, facts and figures over a wide range of fields quantifies many aspects of New York City and, in some cases, the metropolitan region.
NYC My Neighborhood Statistics
My Neighborhood Statistics informs New York City residents how City agencies are performing in their neighborhood. Citizens can view locally mapped performance statistics using a street address or intersection. Color-shaded maps also allow for easy comparisons of different neighborhoods.
NYC Open Data
Provides access to public data produced by City agencies and other City organizations.
NYC Vital Statistics
Births, death, communicable diseases, data of interest for public health professionals and others.
NYPD Crime Statistics
Recent Crime Statistics for the NYC Police Department by Precinct

Five Points

Five Points by Tyler G. Anbinder; Tyler Anbinder
Call Number: Reserve Room - 3 hour loan ; F128.68 .F56 A53 2001
ISBN: 9780684859958
Publication Date: 2001-09-04
All but forgotten today, Five Points was once renowned the world over. Its handful of streets in lower Manhattan featured America's most wretched poverty, shared by Irish, Jewish, German, Italian, Chinese, and African Americans. It was the scene of more riots, scams, saloons, brothels, and drunkenness than any other neighborhood in the new world. Yet it was also a font of creative energy, crammed full of cheap theaters and dance halls, prizefighters and machine politicians, and meeting halls for the political clubs that would come to dominate not just the city but an entire era in American politics.

Gotham A History of New York

Gotham by Edwin G. Burrows
Call Number: Stacks ; F128.3 .B96 1998
ISBN: 9781280470172
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
In Gotham, Edwin G. Burrows and Mike Wallace have produced a monumental work of history, one that ranges from the Indian tribes that settled in and around the island of Manna-hata, to the consolidation of the five boroughs into Greater New York in 1898.

Find books with OneSearch

Academic Search Complete

To search through the EbscoHost Academic Search Complete for articles, simply enter in a keyword into the search box below.

Search Gale Virtual Reference Library

To search through Gale Virtual Reference Library for more information on these or any other topic that interests you, simply enter in a keyword into the search box above.

Databases

Below are a listing of databases that may be helpful to you in finding information about the neighborhood or borough you are interested in:

Academic Search Complete
Access to articles from magazines and peer-reviewed journals, as well as books, conference papers and proceedings, and educational reports from almost all academic areas of study.

Census
United States Census
New York City Trial Transcripts
An index to the Lloyd Sealy Library’s Trial Transcripts of the County of New York 1883-1927.

Criminal Justice Periodical Index
Articles and images from national and international publications in criminal justice. Coverage from 1980 to the present.
Ethnic Newswatch
Provides access to more than 200 newspapers, magazines and journals from the ethnic, minority and native press. Includes materials in Spanish.
Gale eBooks (Gale Virtual Reference)
Hundreds of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical directories and other reference books in the subject fields of criminal justice, economics, history, literature, psychology, religion, science, world cultures, and more.
Infoshare Online
Population statistics, immigration trends, socio-economic indicators, birth and death data, hospitalizations, local economic data, and more for New York City.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources formerly found through the LexisNexisAcademic platform - including federal and state laws and cases, constitutions, municipal codes and law review articles. The interface is designed to offer quick discovery across all content types. Personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents are also included.

New York City Crime Map
Interactive crime map created by the NYPD showing date and location for the seven major NYS penal law felonies. Data available for current and previous calendar year.
New York Times
All members of the John Jay Community with a valid John Jay email address, may sign up for complimentary access to The New York Times digital edition through NYTimes.com and NYTimes smartphone apps. To claim your academic pass and for more details go to: http://www.lib.jjay.cuny.edu/nyt.

New York Times Historical File
Full text of articles and page images of The New York Times from 1851 to 2010.
Uniform Crime Reports
The FBI's compendium of crime statistics. It includes volumes from 1995 to the present. The print version is available at the Reference Desk.

The Brooklyn Experience

The Brooklyn Experience by Ellen Freudenheim; Steve Hindy (Foreword by)
ISBN: 0813577454
Publication Date: 2016-05-20
The Brooklyn Experience, Ellen Freudenheim's fourth comprehensive Brooklyn guidebook, offers a true insider's guide, complete with photographs, itineraries, and insights into one of the most creative, dynamic cities in the modern world.

Brooklyn Once and Future City

Brooklyn by Thomas J. Campanella
Call Number: Stacks ; F129.B7 C36 2019
ISBN: 9780691165387
Publication Date: 2019-09-10
An unprecedented history of Brooklyn, told through its places, buildings, and the people who made them, from the early seventeenth century to today.

Making a Global Immigrant Neighborhood

Making a Global Immigrant Neighborhood by Tarry Hum
Call Number: Stacks ; HN80 .N5 H845 2014
ISBN: 9781439910917
Publication Date: 2014-06-13
Based on more than a decade of research, Making a Global Immigrant Neighborhood charts the evolution of Sunset Park--with a densely concentrated working-poor and racially diverse immigrant population--from the late 1960s to its current status as one of New York City's most vibrant neighborhoods

Urban Layers

Urban Layers is an interactive map that explores the structure of Manhattan's urban fabric. The map lets you navigate through historical fragments of the borough that have been preserved and are currently embedded in its densely built environment. The rigid archipelago of building blocks has been mapped as a succession of structural episodes starting from 1765.

Tenements Towers and Trash

Tenements, Towers and Trash by Julia Wertz
Call Number: Stacks ; F128.3 .W37 2017
ISBN: 9780316501217
Publication Date: 2017-10-03
Here is New York as you've never seen it before; the New York behind the New York that you think you know so well.

Paradise Bronx

Paradise Bronx by Ian Frazier
Call Number: Stacks ; F128.68.B8 F74 2024
ISBN: 9780374280567
Publication Date: 2024-08-20
Ian Frazier's magnum opus: a love song to New York City's most heterogeneous and alive borough.

Brooklyn An Illustrated History

Brooklyn by Ellen Snyder-Grenier
Call Number: Stacks ; F 129 .B7 S69 1996
ISBN: 9781566394086
Publication Date: 1996-06-24
Guiding us into this historical panorama through five larger-than-life points of entry--including The Brooklyn Bridge, The Brooklyn Navy Yard, Coney Island, and the Brooklyn Dodgers--Ellen Snyder-Grenier highlights the people, events, and places that have made Brooklyn Brooklyn.

The Neighborhood of Queens

The Neighborhoods of Queens by Claudia Gryvatz Copquin; Kenneth T. Jackson (Introduction by)
Call Number: Reference ; F128.68 .Q4 C67 2007
ISBN: 9780300112993
Publication Date: 2007-11-28
This up-to-date, intimate portrait of the 99 neighborhoods of Queens is a wonderful tribute to the borough's past history and present diversity.

Harlem

Harlem by Jonathan Gill
Call Number: Stacks ; F128.68 .H3 G55 2011
ISBN: 9780802119100
Publication Date: 2011-02-01
In Harlem, historian Jonathan Gill presents the first complete chronicle of this remarkable place. From Henry Hudson's first contact with native Harlemites, through Harlem's years as a colonial outpost on the edge of the known world, Gill traces the neighborhood's story, marshaling a tremendous wealth of detail and a host of fascinating figures from George Washington to Langston Hughes.