Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Art and Artists: Finding Art Images

Resources on Art History and Art Museums in NYC, based on the course offerings in the Art and Music Department at John Jay College, by Ellen Belcher

Looking for Images of Art

Many museums are making their collections freely available to the public via the museum websites. Many of these are also open access so without copyright and usable for any purpose. It is advisable to cite the source of any image you insert into your paper or publication, including Artist, name of work, museum and website where it was obtained.

If the image is designated as copyrighted, you must ask permission before publishing it. Museums and other institutions will often allow permission and provide hi res files for no or low cost, as opposed to stock image companies such as Art Resource or Getty Images/Corbis, who often charge much larger fees, but offer a quick turn around and image researching services.

The College Art Association has a webpage on image use. They also have a Code of Best Practices which provides visual-arts professionals with a set of principles addressing best practices in the fair use of copyrighted materials. It describes how fair use can be invoked and implemented when using copyrighted materials in scholarship, teaching, museums, archives, and in the creation of art.

To quickly find an image, try using Google Arts and Culture

Or try looking through the blog Free Academic Images

Images from European Museums/Cultural Institutions

The Rijks Museum in Amsterdam has made most of their collections available freely online. Users can explore the entire collection, which is handily sorted by artist, subject, style and even by events in Dutch history

Images d'Art (Art Images) gives you access to a rich database of 30,000 artists and hundreds of thousands of their works that you can discover, share and collect.This image database contains works from French museums that have been digitized and documented by the RMN-GP’s photo agency.

Images from other US Museums/Cultural Institutions

The Art Institute of Chicago offers a collections search tool  with free access to thousands of art objects in their collections.

From the website: Explore thousands of artworks in the museum’s wide-ranging collection—from our world-renowned icons to lesser-known gems from every corner of the globe—as well as our books, writings, reference materials, and other resources.

Images from NYC Museums/Cultural Institutions

The Metropolitan Museum of Art Collections  Includes spotlights on key works and collections, open access art images and exhibit information

Museum of Modern Art [MOMA] Our evolving collection contains almost 200,000 works of modern and contemporary art. More than 81,000 works are currently available online.

Art Resources from the Mid-20th Century from the website:  This collaborative project between the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum and the Whitney Museum of American Art, presents digitized highlights from the personal libraries of Hilla Rebay and Juliana Force, the museums respective inaugural directors. Digitized publications from both libraries can be found on the Art Resources Project Page at the Internet Archive with highlights from Hilla Rebay’s collection shown below.