Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Humanities and Justice Studies: History Resources

Resources for students and and faculty learning or teaching in the Humanities and Justice major.

Databases

America History and Life
Index to journal articles and reviews on the history and culture of the United States and Canada and links to some fulltext from 1964 to the present.
 
American History in Video 
More than 5,000 hours of videos from commercial and governmental sources, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
 
American Memory Historical Collections
Multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library of Congress' National Digital Library Program.
 
Black Thought and Culture 
Contains the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans, and includes interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other ephemeral material.
 
Early English Books Online 
EEBO contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473 to 1700.
 
Eighteenth Century Collections Online 
A digital archive of 150,000 books published in the eighteenth century, covering a broad spectrum of topics like law, history, science, and art.
 
Historical Abstracts
Provides access to academic historical journals that cover the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage is from 1955 to the present.
 
History Cooperative 
Access to 25 history journals, generally since 2001, and the Booker T. Washington Papers.
 
Humanities Source
Articles in all aspects of the humanities including art, literature, music and philosophy, with access dating back to 1907
 
In the First Person: Index to Letters, Diaries…
An index to letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies that are either freely available on the Web or in subscription-only databases. (Note: The JJ library does not subscribe)
 
JSTOR
A searchable collection of the complete runs (minus the most recent 2 to 5 years) of hundreds of the most significant scholarly journals.
 
Making of the Modern World 
Provides the full text of 61,000 works of literature in business, politics, and economics published from 1450 to 1850. Includes the full Goldsmiths’-Kress Library of Economic Literature.
 
New York Times Historical File 
Full text of articles and page images of The New York Times from 1851 to 2007.
 
Project MUSE 
An interdisciplinary collection of high quality, peer reviewed journals.
 
Women and Social Movements in the U.S. 1600-2000 
Brings together primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, audio recordings, Web site reviews, and teaching tools, all documenting the multiplicity of women’s activism in public life.

Primary Sources

Understanding and recognizing primary historical sources are important skills in research in the humanities. Incorporating primary sources into your research can greatly enhance your project. For more on what primary sources are and how to locate and use them, see this guide.

A useful and local primary source collection related to criminal justice can be found right here in the John Jay library. See the Special Collections guide for more information.