Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for health topics
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature with links to full text.
Health & Wellness Resource Center
Reader-friendly collections of articles on common health issues, grouped by topic. Includes some academic articles.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Access to articles in scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also includesAHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Provides many of the materials indexed in Medline. Covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.
Provides access to authoritative consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine and other organizations as well as drug information and an illustrated medical encyclopedia.
Medline via PubMed
National Library of Medicine's database (via PubMed interface) of millions of references to articles published in licensed or freely available biomedical journals.
Access to peer-reviewed journal titles from international publishers in science, technology, social science and medicine. Results can be refined by author affiliation, funding source, and more. Coverage from the 1960's to the present.
World Health Organization Statistical Information System
A guide to health and health-related statistical information from the World Health Organization. Includes statistics on AIDS/HIV and other diseases.
Scholarly v. Popular articles
This 3 minute video from the Peabody Library at Vanderbilt University talks about the differences between popular and scholarly articles. It also mentions trade publications.