Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Health and physical education: Topic overviews

By Ellen Sexton.

Electronic encyclopedia collections

These collections allow you to search across multiple different encyclopedias and dictionaries.  Using an encyclopedia is a great way to start your research, by getting an overview of the topic. 

Gale Virtual Reference Library.    Full text of more than 250 specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical directories and other reference books in the subject fields of criminal justice, economics, history, literature, psychology, religion, science, world cultures, etc.   [Click here for alternate access via library barcode]

Oxford Reference Online Premium.   Access to over 175 reference books from Oxford University Press, including language dictionaries, and reference works in art, science, classics, business, history, law, literature, medicine, geography, performing arts, philosophy, and social science.   [Click here for alternate access via library barcode]

Sage e-Reference Collection.  A collection of over 70 subject encyclopedias, including major titles in criminal justice, research methods, psychology, and social issues from Sage publishers.

Health and disease

Athletics, sports & exercise

Nutrition

Web resources

Food and Human Nutrition  collected by the National Agricultural Library.