Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding magazine & newspaper articles
EbscoHOST Academic Search Complete indexes articles from a broad range of magazines and scholarly journals, many in fulltext.
The news module of Nexis Uni contains the full text of newspapers from across the country, including the New York Times.
Ethnic Newswatch covers "ethnic" newspapers such as El Diario and the Irish Echo.
Sociology literature databases
The best way to find academic / scholarly / peer reviewed articles on sociology topics is to search one of the sociology databases.
ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection
Compilation of ProQuest collections in the social sciences with deep coverage of sociology,politics (including PAIS International), criminal justice, education (including ERIC), and linguistics. Provides abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Contains core coverage journals dating back to 1895, and some priority coverage journals. Also includes full text for many books, monographs, and conference papers.
Scholarly articles, books, and dissertations in sociology and subdisciplines. Coverage from 1952 to the present.
Social Sciences Citation Index
Multidisciplinary index to research journals in the social sciences. 1900 to present.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
An index to the social sciences that is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries.
These are journals whose articles review the current state of research and knowledge about specific topics, rather than presenting new knowledge.
Scholarly v. Popular articles
This 3 minute video from the Peabody Library at Vanderbilt University talks about the differences between popular and scholarly articles. It also mentions trade publications.