Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Specialized encyclopedias are great places to start researching a topic! A good encyclopedia article will provide context and background to better inform your research. At the end of the article there will be list of relevant books and/or articles - you could search for them in the library (ask a reference librarian for help tracking them down). If you are not sure yet where to focus your research, it may suggest interesting topics to you.
Sage Knowledge Collection
A searchable collection of subject encyclopedias, including major titles in criminal justice, research methods, psychology, and social issues from Sage publishers. Formerly called Sage e-Reference Collection.
Gale eBooks (Gale Virtual Reference)
Hundreds of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical directories and other reference books in the subject fields of criminal justice, economics, history, literature, psychology, religion, science, world cultures, and more.
Oxford Reference Online Premium
Over 200 reference books from Oxford University Press, including language dictionaries, and reference works in art, science, classics, business, history, law, literature, medicine, geography, performing arts, philosophy, and social science.
The text of all of the books listed below can be viewed on your computer. If asked for a password, use your John jay email user id and password.