Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Enter keywords relating to your topic into the search box on the right. Keywords can include: "gender and language" or "masculinity and gangs".
Here is a sample of electronic journals, provided by the library, that cover gender:
Berkeley journal of gender, law & justice
Culture, society and masculinities
Gay & lesbian review worldwide
Gender and development
Gender and education
Gender and history
Gender, technology and development
Gender, work, and organization
Indian journal of gender studies
International feminist journal of politics
Journal of African American men
Journal of gender, race & justice
Journal of gender studies
Journal of men, masculinities and spirituality
Journal of men's studies
Lesbian/gay law notes
Psychology of men & masculinity
Men and masculinities
Nineteenth-Century gender studies
Politics & gender
Race, gender & class
Signs: Journal of women in culture and society
Studies in gender and sexuality
Visual culture & gender
Women & music: A journal of gender and culture
FIRST STOPS – these are the best databases to go to first:__
Academic Search Premier (EBSCOHost) (CUNY USE ONLY) Access to articles from magazines and peer-reviewed journals, as well as books, conference papers and proceedings, and educational reports from almost all academic areas of study. You might want to click on "choose databases" to search several databases together with Academic Search Premier
CQ Researcher Plus Archive (CUNY USE ONLY) Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. Coverage from 1923 to the present.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (CUNY USE ONLY) Hundreds of specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical directories and other reference books in the subject fields of criminal justice, economics, history, literature, psychology, religion, science, world cultures, and more.
OTHER DATABASES –a selection of other databases we subscribe to more are here.
America History and Life (JOHN JAY USE ONLY) Index to journal articles and reviews on the history and culture of the United States and Canada and links to some fulltext from 1964 to the present.
Biography Reference Center (CUNY USE ONLY) Original biographical profiles plus feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, obituaries, and images
Gale Academic OneFile (CUNY USE ONLY) Access to thousands of articles in scholarly journals and reference sources in the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, and literature.
Gender Studies Collection
(JOHN JAY USE ONLY) Provides scholarly journals and magazine covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues from the Academic OneFile and General OneFile databases
JSTOR (CUNY USE ONLY) A searchable collection of the complete runs (minus the most recent 2 to 5 years) of hundreds of the most significant scholarly journals.
PsycINFO (CUNY USE ONLY) The most comprehensive index and access to materials in psychology articles and books. Coverage from 1887 to the present.
Women and Social Movements in the U.S. 1600-2000 (CUNY USE ONLY) Brings together primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, audio recordings, Web site reviews, and teaching tools, all documenting the multiplicity of women’s activism in public life.
From the American Anthropology Association, provides full access to AAA's current publications including an archive of all AAA journals.
Search multiple databases
Search several different library databases at the same time using EBSCOHost's Discovery Service for the John Jay College Library.