Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Corrections: Books and Databases

Guide for Library Research on Corrections

Search Gale Virtual Reference Library

To search through Gale Virtual Reference Library for more information on these or any other topic that interests you, simply enter in a keyword into the search box above.

Color of Justice

Color of Justice

The Color of Justice: Race, Ethnicity and Crime in America
Reserve Room HV9950.W44 2007

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Prisons and Correctional Facilities
Reference HV9471.E43 2005 V1-2
----
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol & Addictive Behavior
Reference HV8504.E53 V1-4
----
Encyclopedia of Gangs
Reference HV6439.U5 E53 2008
----
Encyclopedia of Homelessness
Reference HV4493.E53 2004 V1-2
----
Encyclopedia of American Prisons
Reference HV9471.E425 1996
----
Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice
Reference HV9104.E58 2003
----
The Encyclopedia of Understanding Alcohol and Other Drugs
Reference HV4998.A33 2001
----
Encyclopedia of Capital Punishment in the United States
Reference HV8694.P35 2008
----
Encyclopedia of DNA and the United States Criminal Justice System
Reference HV1057.55.P34 2004
----
Prisons and Prison Systems: A Global Encyclopedia
Reference HV8665.R67 2006
----
The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Disorders
Reference RC437.G35 2003 V1-2
----
The Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice.
Reference HV 6017. E5297 2014 v. 1-5
----
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behavior.
Reference HV 6017.E53 2001 v. 1-4
----
Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice.
Reference HV 9104. E58 2003
----
Handbook of Juvenile Justice: Theory and Practice. 
Reference HV 9104. H25 2006

Reference Books

Capital Punishment: a Reference Handbook. (2nd ed.).
Reference HV 8699.U5  K76 2001

----
Crime and Punishment in America. Primary Sources.
Reference HV 6779. H35 2005
----
Death Penalty: a Worldwide Perspective. (4th ed.).
Reference HV 8694. H 657

From Lynch Mobs to the Killing State

From Lynch Mobs to the Killing State: Race and the Death Penalty in America
by Charles Ogletree
KF9227 .C2 F76 2006

Find books with OneSearch

Search for EbscoHost Ebooks

To search through the EbscoHost Ebook Collection for e-books, simply enter in a keyword into the search box below.

EbscoHost Ebooks Search

Academic Search Complete

To search through the EbscoHost Academic Search Complete for articles, simply enter in a keyword into the search box below.

Academic Search Complete

Search Criminal Justice Periodicals Index

To search through Criminal Justice Periodicals Index for articles and more information on these or any other topic that interests you, simply enter in a keyword into the search box above.

Handbooks and Guides

Battleground: Criminal Justice
Reference HV7411.B38 2007 V1-2
----
Addiction Recovery Tools
Reference HV4998.A33 2201
----
The Science, Treatment, and Prevention of Antisocial Behavior
Reference RC555.S35 2000 V1-2
----
Crime and Punishment in America Almanac
Reference HV9950.H39 2005 V1-2
----
Dictionary of Street Alcohol and Drug Terms
Reference HV 5804.J64 1988
----
Handbook of Psychopathy
Reference RC555.H357 2006

Pickpocket's tale

http://lib.syndetics.com/index.php?isbn=0393061906/lc.jpg&client=cunyh&type=xw12

A Pickpocket's Tale
by Timothy Gilfoyle
Stacks HV5663.A66. G55 2006

Books on Reserve

Ohio University's Alden Library Reserve Desk, 1971 (Link)

Legal Aspects of Corrections Management. (3rd ed.).
Reserve Room KF 9728. C76 2013

---
Rethinking Corrections: Rehabilitation, Reentry, and Reintegration.
Reserve Room HV 9275. R48 2011

 

Ebooks

To access these e-books, search for them by title in the CUNY+ catalog and then follow the links:


 

Prison Rape: Law, Media, and Meaning. [electronic resource]
Prison Rape Elimination Act of 2003 [electronic resource]
New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services [electronic resource]

Journal Search

To find an online journal available in the Lloyd Sealy collection, simply enter a title into the search box below.

Search for Journal Titles


Search for Ebrary Ebooks

To search through Ebrary for e-books, simply enter in a keyword into the search box below.

ebrary

Leavenworth Federal

http://lib.syndetics.com/index.php?isbn=0786708972/lc.jpg&client=cunyh&type=xw12

Leavenworth Train
By Joe Jackson
Stacks HV8658. G75 J33 2001

Alcatraz

Alcatraz

Alcatraz
by David Ward
Stacks - HV9474 .A53 W37 2008

Corrections Databases

Mass Incarceration

Mass Incarceration on Trial: a Remarkable Court Decision and the Future of Prisons in America.
by Jonathan Simon
Stacks KF 9730. S57 2014

Capital Punishment in America

Capital punishment in America: Race and the Death Penalty over Time
by Martin Urbina
HV8699 .U5 U734 2012