Full text of plays by playwrights from the USA, the Caribbean, and English-speaking countries in Africa. Excellent source for Harlem Renaissance writers. NOTE: Content is owned by Library in perpetuity.
Contains the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans, and includes interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters and other ephemeral material.
A multidisciplinary, full-text database that brings together relevant content from mainstream periodicals, “gray” literature, and the alternative press — with a focus on the critical issues and events that influence women’s lives in more than 190 countries.
Contains the full text for hundreds of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers as well as monographs and books.
A searchable compilation of records that identify individual enslaved persons and their owners, beginning as early as 1525 and ending during the Civil War. Data comes from census records, slave trade transactions, cemetery records, birth certifications, manumissions, ship inventories, newspaper accounts, private narratives, legal documents and many other sources. The index contains over 35,000 records and it is expected to grow as John Jay College professors and students locate and assemble data from additional sources.
Appearance & functionality varies by browser. Firefox/Mozilla works well.
Brings together primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, audio recordings, Web site reviews, and teaching tools, all documenting the multiplicity of women
Brings together primary source documents relating to Latin America and the Caribbean; original manuscripts, signed letters, expedition records, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, ephemera, and more.
An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
A searchable collection of over 500,000 primary source documents relating to African American history and culture digitized by over 1,000 libraries libraries and archives across the country.
