Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Africana Studies

Selected Readings in Africana Studies

Aldridge, D. (2010). African American studies. In K. Lomotey (Ed.), Encyclopedia of African American education (pp. 24-29). SAGE Publications. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781412971966.n9

Aldridge, D. P. (2008). Black/Africana studies in the United States. In C. B. Davies (Ed.), Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora: Origins, experiences, and culture (Vol. 1, pp. 195-198). ABC-CLIO.

Butler, K. D. (2006). African diaspora. In C. A. Palmer (Ed.), Encyclopedia of African-American culture and history (2nd ed., Vol. 1, pp. 34-37). Macmillan Reference USA. 

Karenga, M. (2005). Black studies. In M. K. Asante & A. Mazama (Eds.), Encyclopedia of Black studies (pp. 148-151). SAGE Reference. 

Mars, P. (2013). African diaspora. In P. L. Mason (Ed.), Encyclopedia of race and racism (2nd ed., Vol. 1, pp. 57-61). Macmillan Reference USA

Ngwainmbi, E. (2006). African American studies programs in North America and the teaching of Africa: Myth, reality, and reconstruction. In M. K. Asante & M. Karenga, Handbook of Black studies (pp. 225-242). SAGE Publications. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781412982696.n15

Poe, D. Z. (2006). Black studies in the historically Black colleges and universities. In M. K. Asante & M. Karenga, Handbook of Black studies (pp. 204-224). SAGE Publications. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781412982696.n14

Stewart, J. (2006). Social science and systematic inquiry in Africana studies: Challenges for the 21st century. In M. K. Asante & M. Karenga, Handbook of Black studies (pp. 379-401). SAGE Publications. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781412982696.n27

Issues to Explore

Africana Studies at John Jay College is a multidisciplinary pursuit across geographic boundaries including a range of academic interests.  Having a particular area and/or issue on which to focus will help to develop your research query and result in finding relevant resources for your assignment.  Below are some suggestions of course related issues you may wish to explore.  Some topics listed are broad in nature, and therefore, may need to be narrowed.

Law and Justice

African Diaspora in the United States

African Diaspora in the Americas

African Diaspora in the Caribbean

Arts & Culture 

Oral Traditions

Literature 

Theater

Religion

Terrorism and Violence

Spoken Word Poetry and Performance     

Caribbean Migrations to the United States    

African-American Experience in America

Caribbean Literature and Culture    

Music

Race and the Urban Community       

Race & Ethnicity in America  

Community-based Approaches to Justice     

Institutional Racism   

Africana Youth and Social Justice Struggles  

Political Economy of Racism  

Race and Science       

Environmental Racism           

Inequality and Wealth

Psychology of Oppression     

Origins of Contemporary Africa    

Drugs and Crime in Africa     

Police and Law in Africa    

Blacks in Latin America    

African Politics    

Psychology of the African-American Experience    

Psychology of the African-American Family    

Masculinities in the United States    

Self, Identity & Justice

Get Help from a Reference Librarian

We are Librarians.  We know the answers to questions you didn't even know to ask.

 

Need books, journal and/or magazine articles?  Don't know where to start?

A reference librarian can guide you through the research process.

We can help you:

  • Determine how many and what types of resources to use,
  • Choose the most appropriate database for your topic, and
  • Construct a keyword search that best describes your topic and therefore produces good results

 

Text us

    In person at the Reference Desk on the 2nd Floor of the Library

    Call us at (212) 237-8246

    Text us at (646) 256-5199

       Email us your reference question, OR Chat with us