Skip to main content
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Addiction: Getting started

a guide to finding out more about addiction and related topics. By Ellen Sexton.

Addiction reference books

Streaming video

Counseling & Therapy in Video 375 hours of videos of dramatized consultations, counseling sessions, and scenes, as well as documentaries, interviews and lectures.

General psychology encyclopedias

Electronic encyclopedia collections include:

Gale Virtual Reference Library.    Full text of more than 250 specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical directories and other reference books in the subject fields of criminal justice, economics, history, literature, psychology, religion, science, world cultures, etc.   [Click here for alternate access via library barcode]

Oxford Reference [Online Premium].   Access to over 175 reference books from Oxford University Press, including language dictionaries, and reference works in art, science, classics, business, history, law, literature, medicine, geography, performing arts, philosophy, and social science.   [Click here for alternate access via library barcode]

Sage Knowledge Collection.  A collection of over 70 subject encyclopedias, including major titles in criminal justice, research methods, psychology, and social issues from Sage publishers. It includes over 40 psychology encylopedias. 

Some excellent encyclopedias are available in print fromat, in the reference area on the upper floor of the library: