This is the "Getting started" page of the "Gender Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Lloyd Sealy Library Lloyd Sealy Library | Home John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Gender Studies  

Last Updated: Oct 21, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.jjay.cuny.edu/genderstudies Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is gender studies?

Gender studies examines the ways in which gender (masculinity and femininity) is constructed, supported and given meaning by and through institutions, social organizations, and relations of power. For an extended discussion of gender studies, please refer to:

Encyclopedia of Sex and GenderGender Studies.  Roof, J. (2007). In Malti-Douglas, F. (Ed.). Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender, Vol.2.  Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA. pp. 624-628.   

Also see:

Fifty key concepts in gender studies

Fifty key concepts in gender studies. Pilcher, J. (2004). Reference - HQ1180 .P55 2004 

Defines concepts such as cyborg, difference, and essentialism. It also provides a brief history of gender studies.

 

 

Gender Studies at John Jay College

Gender Studies Major at John Jay College

Gender Studies Minor at John Jay College

Gender Studies Faculty at John Jay College

Search for Courses at John Jay College

The Women's Center at John Jay College

 

Electronic Encyclopedias

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Provides access to the full text of electronic encyclopedia articles, dictionaries and more. This database will give you background information on your topic. Enter your search terms, such as “gender and sexuality” or “masculinity”, in the search box below. 

Sage e-Reference Collection A collection of over 70 subject encyclopedias, including major titles in criminal justice, research methods, psychology, and social issues from Sage publishers. Enter your keyword search terms in the basic search box, below.

 

 

 

Gender in the News

Newspaper

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Karen Okamoto
Contact Info
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College
Haaren Hall
524 West 59th St.
New York NY 10019
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Ellen Belcher
Contact Info
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice
899 Tenth Ave
New York City 10019
(212)237-8238
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip