This is the "Getting started" page of the "Environmental justice" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Lloyd Sealy Library Lloyd Sealy Library | Home John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Environmental justice  

Your guide to books, journals, databases and more on environmental justice, available at the Lloyd Sealy Library.
Last Updated: Sep 14, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.jjay.cuny.edu/environmentaljustice Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is environmental justice?

Child of a migratory farm worker. From the Library of Congress Flickr site.

The term environmental justice was introduced in the 1980s to describe a growing movement that combined both environmental and social justice concerns.

According to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, environmental justice refers to “the fair treatment and meaningful involvement of all people regardless of race, color, national origin or income with respect to the development, implementation, and enforcement of environmental laws, regulations, and policies.” (www.epa.gov/Compliance/environmentaljustice/)

Environmental racism is a related term that refers to the disproportionate exposure to environmental hazards that racialized minority groups face.

Although environmental justice is an international issue (e.g. climate justice), this research guide focuses mainly on American environmental justice concerns.

 

Getting started

For an overview of environmental justice, try searching the following sources:

Encyclopedia of Environment and Society. Robbins, P. (2007).

An electronic encyclopedia. Click on the link provided or the image to the left, then enter search terms in the search box provided. Use terms such as “environmental racism”, "environmental justice" and equity to find relevant encyclopedia articles.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Provides access to the full text of electronic encyclopedia articles, dictionaries and more. Click on the link above and enter your search terms such as “environmental justice” and “environmental racism”.  You can also type your search terms in the box below.

Sage e-Reference Collection A collection of over 70 subject encyclopedias, including major titles in criminal justice, research methods, psychology, and social issues from Sage publishers. Enter your keyword search terms in the basic search box, below.

  

 

Environmental justice in the news

Environmental justice in the headlines

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Karen Okamoto
Contact Info
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College
Haaren Hall
524 West 59th St.
New York NY 10019
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip