Skip to main content
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Media Collections at the Lloyd Sealy Library: Streaming Video Collections

Our largest streaming collections are kanopyFilms on Demand, and Alexander Street. All can be watched by members of the John Jay community from any web enabled device; off-campus authentication is by way of John Jay email ID and password.    

Kanopy

New to us in Fall 2016. Over 26,000 works, including documentaries, feature films, and instructional films. Award-winning collections include titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. Netflix-like interface. An unlimited number of users can watch a film simultaneously making it ideal for whole-class, watch-at-home assignments. 

Please note kanopy works are NOT currently discoverable in either OneSearch or the CUNY+ catalog.  Please search for content directly on the kanopy platform

 

Films On Demand

FOD_Icon_250x80

Over 7,000 documentaries, dramas, and newsreels from the world’s best producers including, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, Cambridge Educational, PBS, National Geographic, NOVA, BBC and more (Please note: only about half of the titles are currently indexed in OneSearch and CUNY+; best results will come from searching on the Films On Demand platform).

 

 

Search Films On Demand:

Alexander Street collection

Our Alexander Street collections include the following:

Our OneSearch discovery tool can be used to search for titles in the Alexander Street Collections.  Or search directly on the Alexander Street platform.  (Please note Alex St titles are NOT indexed in CUNY+).

Also available streaming

Ghosts of Attica.  (2001).  First Run/Icarus Films .  

Rikers: A documentary from Bill Moyers. (2016).  Produced by Mark Levin, Mark Benjamin & Rolake Bamgbose.  Alternate link

Freely Available Streaming Video

Academic Conferences and Lectures:

Academic Earth features over 5,000 lectures from top rate Universities across the country on many topics and disciplines. Entire courses are offered as are playlists of videos on various topics.

iBioSeminars A project of the American Society for Cell Biology, this site features lecture-style videos reported by scientists and edited by science writers, which provide contemporary biological information and cutting edge developments.

FORA.TV Conference Channel has thousands of conference proceedings and lectures from academia and the media, including many CUNY Graduate Center lectures. Warning: of the over 10,000 films available here, a small percentage are pay per view.  

Many lectures and special events that have taken place at John Jay College can be downloaded from iTunesU--you must download iTunes to your computer (many of these are also available on DVD and are part of the Library's media collection).

MicrobeWorld created in response to public concerns about bioterrorism and other risks by the American Society for Microbiology, this site features podcasts and videos that teach microbiology and the impact of microorganisms on human culture.

Documentary, historic and art film archives:

Europa Film Treasures has over 100 historic films from 15 European countries--featuring works from institutions like the British Film Institute, La Cinematheque Francaise, and Filmarchiv Austria.

Internet Archive  moving image collection contains thousands of digital movies, uploaded by Archive users, which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, cartoons and concerts.

National Film Board of Canada has a large collection of full length documentary, educational and independent films.

National Geographic TV has thousands of short length and some full length videos from the National Geographic channel.

PBS offers episodes from several of its popular series like NOVA, American Experience, and Masterpiece (selected episodes change from time to time so you can't assume they'll be available throughout a given semester).

Snag Films advertising-supported documentary and Independent films. 

TED Talks   short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less), devoted to spreading ideas.  

UbuWeb  A resource for avant-garde material, including visual, concrete and sound poetry,  film and sound art mp3 archives.  Good source for finding perfomance recordings.

WGBH Openvault  unique and historically important content produced by public television and radio.