Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Literature Resources: Find articles

This guide presents library resources for the study of literature.

Search tips

Choose Literature as your subject in the Articles & databases tab on the Library's homepage. 

    Artemis: A one-stop resource

    Before you go about exploring other literature databases, you may want to give Artemis a try. It  is a portal for searching Literature Resource Center database which provides access to full text biographies, critical analyses, reviews, and bibliographies of work from novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers.

    Literary Criticism databases

    A full list of relevant databases can be found on the Literature databases page. Below are just some of the more popular resources.

     

    Academic Search Complete

    Access to articles from magazines and peer-reviewed journals, as well as books, conference papers and proceedings, and educational reports from almost all academic areas of study, including literature.

     

    Black Drama

    Full text of plays by playwrights from the USA, the Caribbean, and English-speaking countries in Africa. Excellent source for Harlem Renaissance writers.

       
       
     

    JSTOR

    A searchable collection of the complete runs (minus the most recent 2 to 5 years) of hundreds of the most significant scholarly journals, including many in the field of literary criticism.

      MLA International Biography

    Index to scholarly journal articles on language and literature. Coverage from 1926 to the present (Note: many are not available at John Jay.)

     

    Project MUSE - Standard Collection

    An interdisciplinary collection of high quality, peer reviewed journals.

     

    You can also search multiple databases using EBSCO's discovery search.

    Contact Us

    Call us: 212-237-8246

    Email us

    Text us