The Library offers many resources to students of Computer Science, Information Security, Digital Forensics, and Cybersecurity!
From ebooks to reports to videos and more, the Lloyd Sealy Library supports your studies.
Ebooks: John Jay students can access ebooks from anywhere. It's usually easier to page through the ebook online or download a chapter at a time. (Faculty, be aware when assigning a library ebook that some ebooks have a user limit.)
Print books: John Jay students can borrow books for free for 4 weeks from any CUNY library. And if a book is available at a different CUNY library, you can request that it be delivered to the JJ library for you through CLICS. (Note that books in print may be older and not as up-to-date as our ebooks.)
The JJ library provides access to lots of Packt ebooks, which cover a multitude of technical topics.
To search Packt books:
Use this OneSearch link, which should work to show you the 2,000+ books in random order
Recommended: “Lock” the filters on the right side of the page (Books, Full Text Online, Ebook Central) by hovering over them and clicking the lock icon.
Add a second (or third) keyword into the search box, like “security” or “penetration testing"
In the search results, click "Full text online" to view the ebook.
Note: reading ebooks online is easy; downloading a chapter is usually easy; downloading the whole book is very difficult. Try our step-by-step tutorial if you're having trouble accessing these ebooks.
Selected Packt books
Penetration Testing with the Bash Shell by 
Practical Mobile Forensics by
The book is an easy-to-follow guide with clear instructions on various mobile forensic techniques. The chapters and the topics within are structured for a smooth learning curve, which will swiftly empower you to master mobile forensics. If you are a budding forensic analyst, consultant, engineer, or a forensic professional wanting to expand your skillset, this is the book for you. The book will also be beneficial to those with an interest in mobile forensics or wanting to find data lost on mobile devices. It will be helpful to be familiar with forensics in general but no prior experience is required to follow this book.
Learning Pandas by
If you are a Python programmer who wants to get started with performing data analysis using pandas and Python, this is the book for you. Some experience with statistical analysis would be helpful but is not mandatory.
We don't think you're a dummy! But sometimes, a simple introduction to a topic can be very useful — so you might consider looking at the technical ...For Dummies ebooks that you can access through the JJ library.
To search the ...for Dummies ebooks we have:
Use this "for dummies" OneSearch link, which should work to show you the 300+ books in random order
“Lock” the filters on the right side of the page (Books, Full Text Online, published 2012 or later) by hovering over them and clicking the lock icon.
Add a second (or third) keyword into the search box, like “SPSS” or “Java"
In the search results, click "Full text online" to view the ebook.
Note: reading ebooks online is easy; downloading a chapter is usually easy; downloading the whole book is very difficult. Try our step-by-step tutorial if you're having trouble accessing these ebooks.
Selected ...for Dummies ebooks
Data Science for Dummies by
Discover how data science can help you gain in-depth insight into your business - the easy way! Jobs in data science abound, but few people have the data science skills needed to fill these increasingly important roles. Data Science For Dummies is the perfect starting point for IT professionals and students who want a quick primer on all areas of the expansive data science space. With a focus on business cases, the book explores topics in big data, data science, and data engineering, and how these three areas are combined to produce tremendous value. If you want to pick-up the skills you need to begin a new career or initiate a new project, reading this book will help you understand what technologies, programming languages, and mathematical methods on which to focus. While this book serves as a wildly fantastic guide through the broad, sometimes intimidating field of big data and data science, it is not an instruction manual for hands-on implementation. Here's what to expect: Provides a background in big data and data engineering before moving on to data science and how it's applied to generate value Includes coverage of big data frameworks like Hadoop, MapReduce, Spark, MPP platforms, and NoSQL Explains machine learning and many of its algorithms as well as artificial intelligence and the evolution of the Internet of Things Details data visualization techniques that can be used to showcase, summarize, and communicate the data insights you generate It's a big, big data world out there--let Data Science For Dummies help you harness its power and gain a competitive edge for your organization.
R for Dummies by
Mastering R has never been easier Picking up R can be tough, even for seasoned statisticians anddata analysts. R For Dummies, 2nd Editionprovides a quick and painless way to master all the R you'll everneed. Requiring no prior programming experience and packed withtons of practical examples, step-by-step exercises, and samplecode, this friendly and accessible guide shows you how to know yourway around lists, data frames, and other R data structures, whilelearning to interact with other programs, such as Microsoft Excel.You'll learn how to reshape and manipulate data, merge data sets,split and combine data, perform calculations on vectors and arrays,and so much more. R is an open source statistical environment and programminglanguage that has become very popular in varied fields for themanagement and analysis of data. R provides a wide array ofstatistical and graphical techniques, and has become the standardamong statisticians for software development and data analysis.R For Dummies, 2nd Edition takes the intimidationout of working with R and arms you with the knowledge and know-howto master the programming language of choice among statisticiansand data analysts worldwide. Covers downloading, installing, and configuring R Includes tips for getting data in and out of R Offers advice on fitting regression models and ANOVA Provides helpful hints for working with graphics R For Dummies, 2nd Edition is an idealintroduction to R for complete beginners, as well as an excellenttechnical reference for experienced R programmers.
C++ for Dummies by
The best-selling C++ For Dummies book makes C++ easier! C++ For Dummies, 7th Edition is thebest-selling C++ guide on the market, fully revised for the 2014update. With over 60% new content, this updated guide reflects thenew standards, and includes a new Big Data focus that highlightsthe use of C++ among popular Big Data software solutions. The bookprovides step-by-step instruction from the ground up, helpingbeginners become programmers and allowing intermediate programmersto sharpen their skills. The companion website provides all codementioned in the text, an updated GNU_C++, the new C++ compiler,and other applications. By the end of the first chapter, you willhave programmed your first C++ application! As one of the most commonly used programming languages, C++ is amust-have skill for programmers who wish to remain versatile andmarketable. C++ For Dummies, 7th Edition providesclear, concise, expert instruction, which is organized for easynavigation and designed for hands-on learning. Whether you're newto programming, familiar with other languages, or just getting upto speed on the new libraries, features, and generics, this guideprovides the information you need. Provides you with an introduction to C++ programming Helps you become a functional programmer Features information on classes, inheritance, and optionalfeatures Teaches you 10 ways to avoid adding bugs The book incorporates the newest C++ features into thefundamental instruction, allowing beginners to learn the update asthey learn the language. Staying current on the latest developmentsis a crucial part of being a programmer, and C++ For Dummies,7th Edition gets you started off on the rightfoot.
Springer Link includes over 5,000 ebooks and conference proceedings related to CS.
They are free to download in their entirety as PDFs if you access them through the library.
Selected Springer Link ebooks:
Dive into Python 3 by
Mark Pilgrim's Dive Into Python 3 is a hands-on guide to Python 3 and its differences from Python 2. As in the original book, Dive Into Python, each chapter starts with a real, complete code sample, proceeds to pick it apart and explain the pieces, and then puts it all back together in a summary at the end. This book includes: Example programs completely rewritten to illustrate powerful new concepts now available in Python 3: sets, iterators, generators, closures, comprehensions, and much more A detailed case study of porting a major library from Python 2 to Python 3 A comprehensive appendix of all the syntactic and semantic changes in Python 3 This is the perfect resource for you if you need to port applications to Python 3, or if you like to jump into languages fast and get going right away.
Guide to Computer Network Security by
This fully revised and updated new edition of the definitive text/reference on computer network and information security presents a comprehensive guide to the repertoire of security tools, algorithms and best practices mandated by the technology we depend on. Topics and features: highlights the magnitude of the vulnerabilities, weaknesses and loopholes inherent in computer networks; discusses how to develop effective security solutions, protocols, and best practices for the modern computing environment; examines the role of legislation, regulation, and enforcement in securing computing and mobile systems; describes the burning security issues brought about by the advent of the Internet of Things and the eroding boundaries between enterprise and home networks (NEW); provides both quickly workable and more thought-provoking exercises at the end of each chapter, with one chapter devoted entirely to hands-on exercises; supplies additional support materials for instructors at an associated website.
Computer Aided Verification by
This open access two-volume set LNCS 10980 and 10981 constitutes the refereed proceedings of the 30th International Conference on Computer Aided Verification, CAV 2018, held in Oxford, UK, in July 2018. The 52 full and 13 tool papers presented together with 3 invited papers and 2 tutorials were carefully reviewed and selected from 215 submissions. The papers cover a wide range of topics and techniques, from algorithmic and logical foundations of verification to practical applications in distributed, networked, cyber-physical, and autonomous systems. They are organized in topical sections on model checking, program analysis using polyhedra, synthesis, learning, runtime verification, hybrid and timed systems, tools, probabilistic systems, static analysis, theory and security, SAT, SMT and decisions procedures, concurrency, and CPS, hardware, industrial applications.
As the name suggests, the Institute of Physics (IoP) ebooks and articles focus mainly on physics topics. There are some materials that are suitable for CS and infosec courses, however.
Ebooks can be downloaded in their entirety as PDFs. To download in e-reader formats (Kindle, ePub), you'll need to make a separate IoP account.
Selected IoP ebooks and articles:
Science and Computing with Raspberry Pi by
The world of single-board computing puts powerful coding tools in the palm of your hand. The portable Raspberry Pi computing platform with the power of Linux yields an exciting exploratory tool for beginning scientific computing. Science and Computing with Raspberry Pi takes the enterprising researcher, student, or hobbyist through explorations in a variety of computing exercises with the physical sciences. The book has tutorials and exercises for a wide range of scientific computing problems while guiding the user through: * Configuring your Raspberry Pi and Linux operating system * Understanding the software requirements while using the Pi for scientific computing * Computing exercises in physics, astronomy, chaos theory, and machine learning
Computation in Science by
This book provides a theoretical background in computation to scientists who use computational methods. It explains how computing is used in the natural sciences, and provides a high-level overview of those aspects of computer science and software engineering that are most relevant for computational science. The focus is on concepts, results, and applications, rather than on proofs and derivations. The unique feature of this book is that it "connects the dots between computational science, the theory of computation and information, and software engineering. The book should help scientists to better understand how they use computers in their work, and to better understand how computers work. It is meant to compensate a bit for the general lack of any formal training in computer science and information theory. Readers will learn something they can use throughout their careers.
Composability in quantum cryptography (article) by
From article abstract: In this article, we review several aspects of composability in the context of quantum cryptography. The first part is devoted to key distribution. We discuss the security criteria that a quantum key distribution (QKD) protocol must fulfill to allow its safe use within a larger security application (e.g. for secure message transmission); and we demonstrate—by an explicit example—what can go wrong if conventional (non-composable) security definitions are used. Finally, to illustrate the practical use of composability, we show how to generate a continuous key stream by sequentially composing rounds of a QKD protocol.
Encyclopedias are great for getting started in a new or unfamiliar field. They provide:
Encyclopedia of Database Systems by 
Encyclopedia of information science and technology by 
Encyclopedia of Cyber Behavior by 
Encyclopedia of Cryptography and Security by 
Encyclopedia of Information Ethics and Security (2008) by 
Simple English Wikipedia