John Jay College at 50 - An online exhibit celebrating the 50th anniversary of the College's founding.
For some of the resources below you may need to Log in if you are off campus.
One Search Advanced Search we tried some of the subject headings listed below.
Academic Search Complete click on 'choose databases' add ERIC and/or Education Source
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) yielded many news articles mentioning John Jay College and law cases with John Jay College as a party.
We searched within Hispanic Outlook on Higher Education and found many articles mentioning "John Jay College"
New York Times Historical File yielded many articles mentioning John Jay College going back to 1966. For recent articles, get a free New York Times and/or Washington Post account.
Markowitz, G. (2008). Educating for justice: A history of John Jay College. New York, N.Y.: John Jay Press. Stacks (LD2602 .J32 M37 2008 ) Is now freely available online
Note that the two earlier books are incorporated into the above 2008 edition with an additional epilogue chapter. You can also find the earlier editions in the Library:
Markowitz, G. (1990). Educating for justice : A brief history of John Jay College. New York, N.Y.: The John Jay Press. Stacks LD 2602 .J32 M37 1990
Please email me at libspcoll [at] jjay.cuny.edu to report dead links, suggest other links or just to ask for help on researching John Jay College or CUNY.
See also, this page on the John Jay College Archives
John Jay College Strategic Plan 2020-2025
John Jay College Seven Principles for a Culturally Responsive, Inclusive and Anti-
Racist Curriculum
John Jay College Reports/publications/periodicals, try browsing the call number LD2602.J299
Some John Jay College Reports are digitally available on Academic Works
CUNY Reports and publications – try browsing the call numbers starting with LD3835 .A532
Books, Periodicals and Reports by/about John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Markowitz, G. (2008). Educating for justice: A history of John Jay College. New York, N.Y.: John Jay Press. Stacks (LD2602 .J32 M37 2008 ) Is now freely available online
John Jay College of Criminal Justice. Undergraduate and Graduate Bulletins - some recent issues are available digitally (2003-2017) and here see also:
John Jay College of Criminal Justice. College Council. Minutes of the College Council. Special Collections - LD2602 .J292 J63a - recent minutes are available electronically http://www.lib.jjay.cuny.edu/council/
John Jay student newspaper issues are available on microfilm under the titles Lex (1960s-1982?) Lex Review (1983 -1984) - John Jay Chronicle (1982) - ESI (1980-1981) - John Jay Times (2/1998 - 5/2008) - The Tenth Avenue Guardian (12/2008 - 5/2009) - The Sentinel (10/2009 - Present) a few issues are available electronically.
John Jay College of Criminal Justice. (1972-2006) The Week of… [weekly newsletter on College activities] Special Collections - LD2602 .J32a W4
John Jay College of Criminal Justice. (1991 – present) Fact book. Special Collections - LD2602 .J292 J63c [latest versions also available online https://www.jjay.cuny.edu/fact-books]
Other recent data sets and reports from the are here https://www.jjay.cuny.edu/office-institutional-research
Books, Periodicals and Reports – by/about City University of New York
New York (N.Y.). Board of Higher Education. Proceedings of the Board of Higher Education of the City of New York. 1929-1978 Special Collections - L183 .N5 A36 [Followed by] -City University of New York. Board of Trustees. (1979-present) Proceedings of the Board of Trustees of the City University of New York. Special Collections - L183 .N5 A36 -These minutes are all (1929-present) available online at http://policy.cuny.edu/toc/btm/
CUNY Chancellor's Reports 1965-2004 - Microfilm Cabinets - LD3835 .A25 2004/2005-2008/2009 (Printouts of John Jay sections only) - Special Collections - LD3835 .A25
CUNY Institutional Research Student Data Book Archive goes back to 1967
Committee on Academic Program, Policy, and Research (CAPPR) Reports available online
Mayor's Advisory Task Force on the City University of New York. (1999) The City University of New York, an institution adrift Reference - LD 3835 .N4 C58 1999 -This and other reports of the Mayor’s [Giuliani] Advisory Task Force on the City University of New York are available from here: http://www.nyc.gov/html/rwg/cuny/home.html
Office of the New York State Inspector General (2016) Investigation of the City University of New York, Interim Report. https://ig.ny.gov/news/investigation-city-university-new-york-interim-report
Office of the New York State Inspector General https://ig.ny.gov/
CUNY Policy website: http://policy.cuny.edu/
Other Online sources:
CUNY Digital History Archive http://cdha.cuny.edu/
Lloyd Sealy Library (2014) 50 years of Educating for Justice (online Exhibit) https://dc.lib.jjay.cuny.edu/index.php/About/50th
The Founding Generation (2012 Video on the early history of John Jay College on the You-Tube channel) Updated under the title About John Jay College (History) in fall 2017
Lloyd Sealy Library, Special Collections, John Jay College Archives website: http://guides.lib.jjay.cuny.edu/SpecialCollections/JohnJayCollegeArchives
CUNY Academic Works – John Jay College Archives, Reports and Publications: https://academicworks.cuny.edu/jj_arch_pubs/
John Jay College Yearbooks are freely available up to 2015 and are also available on our open special collection shelves LD2602 .J35 J9 .
The governing body of CUNY is the Board of Trustees
The Minutes of the Meetings of the Board of Trustees are available online
Governing body of John Jay College is the College Council
The Minutes of the Meetings of the John Jay College Council are available here (2007-2010) here (2010-present) and here (2010-present with log-in) and in the Library (1984-2007) open Special Collections - LD2602 .J292 J63a
Faculty
CUNY University Faculty Senate
John Jay College Faculty Senate
Students
CUNY University Student Senate
John Jay College Student Council
Staff
Try searching these subject headings in CUNY+ or OneSearch:
Financial crises -- New York (State) -- New York -- History -- 20th century.
Fiscal policy -- New York (State) -- New York -- History -- 20th century.
New York (State) -- Economic conditions -- 20th century.
City University of New York -- Evaluation.
Education, Higher -- New York (State) -- New York -- Aims and objectives
Education, Higher -- New York (State) -- New York
Education, Higher -- New York (State) -- Finance
Or try searching these "Keywords in Subject": John Jay College AND History | John Jay College AND Statistics | John Jay College AND Accreditation | John Jay College AND evaluation | John Jay College and Finance | City University of New York AND Statistics | City University of New York AND Students | City University of New York AND Finance | City University of New York AND Evaluation |
Middle States Commission on Higher Education is the agency which accredits this college. Major re-accreditation self-studies and external committee review reports are every 10 years, there are also mid-term monitoring and other reports. Duplicate and additional reports are available by appointment in the Special Collections Room by emailing libspcoll@jjay.cuny.edu
John Jay College of Criminal Justice.
(1966) College of Police Science, City University of New York report to Middle States Association Special Collections - LD2602.J299 C64 1966
(1969) Report to the Middle States Association Special Collections - LD2602.J299 J6 1969
(1974) Self-study. Special Collections - LD2602 .J299 J6 1974
(1975) Response to Middle States Evaluation Team report. Special Collections - LD2602.J299 J6 1975a
(1975) Toward excellence in criminal justice education: 1976-79 : a period of appraisal : the Advanced Institutional Development Plan (two volumes) Special Collections - LD 2602 .J299 J6 1975b
(1982) Directions for excellence in criminal justice education. (two volumes) Special Collections - LD2602 .J299 J6 1982
(1987) Middle States Association periodic review report. Special Collections - LD 2602 .J299 J6 1987b
(1992) Self Study Special Collections - LD 2602 .J299 J6 1992b
(1993) Self Study. Special Collections - LD 2602 .J299 J6 1993
(2003) Self Study Report - Special Collections - LD2602 .J299 J6 2003
(2005) Monitoring report: strategic plan, outcomes assessment, facilities plan. Special Collections - LD2602 .J299 J6 2005b
(2013) Comprehensive self-study submitted by President Jeremy Travis to the Middle States Commission on Higher Education. Special Collections & Reserve - LD2602 .J299 J6 2013
Middle States Commission on Higher Education
(1975) Report to the faculty, administration, trustees, students of John Jay College of Criminal Justice
(1993) Report to the faculty, administration, trustees, students of John Jay College of Criminal Justice, The City University of New York. Special Collections - LD2602 .J299 M52 1993
(1995) Report of the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools evaluation of the John Jay College of Criminal Justice Branch Campus, Gurabo, Puerto Rico. Special Collections - LD 2602 .J299 M52 1995
