Skip to main content
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Computer Science

Materials for Computer Science, Information Security, Digital Forensics, and Cybersecurity students and faculty

Welcome

A man and woman work on laptopsThe Library offers many resources to students of Computer Science, Information Security, Digital Forensics, and Cybersecurity!

From ebooks to reports to videos and more, the Lloyd Sealy Library supports your studies.

About library books

Ebooks: John Jay students can access ebooks from anywhere. It's usually easier to page through the ebook online or download a chapter at a time. (Faculty, be aware when assigning a library ebook that some ebooks have a user limit.)

Print books: John Jay students can borrow books for free for 4 weeks from any CUNY library. And if a book is  available at a different CUNY library, you can request that it be delivered to the JJ library for you through CLICS. (Note that books in print may be older and not as up-to-date as our ebooks.)

Find print books and ebooks with OneSearch

Advanced search

Packt ebooks

The JJ library provides access to lots of Packt ebooks, which cover a multitude of technical topics.

To search Packt books:

  • Use this OneSearch link, which should work to show you the 2,000+ books in random order

    • Recommended: “Lock” the filters on the right side of the page (Books, Full Text Online, Ebook Central) by hovering over them and clicking the lock icon.

  • Add a second (or third) keyword into the search box, like “security” or “penetration testing"

  • In the search results, click "Full text online" to view the ebook.

Note: reading ebooks online is easy; downloading a chapter is usually easy; downloading the whole book is very difficult. Try our step-by-step tutorial if you're having trouble accessing these ebooks.

 

Selected Packt books

...for Dummies ebooks

We don't think you're a dummy! But sometimes, a simple introduction to a topic can be very useful — so you might consider looking at the technical ...For Dummies ebooks that you can access through the JJ library.

To search the ...for Dummies ebooks we have:

  • Use this "for dummies" OneSearch link, which should work to show you the 300+ books in random order

  • “Lock” the filters on the right side of the page (Books, Full Text Online, published 2012 or later) by hovering over them and clicking the lock icon.

  • Add a second (or third) keyword into the search box, like “SPSS” or “Java"

  • In the search results, click "Full text online" to view the ebook.

Note: reading ebooks online is easy; downloading a chapter is usually easy; downloading the whole book is very difficult. Try our step-by-step tutorial if you're having trouble accessing these ebooks.

 

Selected ...for Dummies ebooks

Springer ebooks

Springer Link includes over 5,000 ebooks and conference proceedings related to CS.

They are free to download in their entirety as PDFs if you access them through the library.

 

Selected Springer Link ebooks:

Institute of Physics ebooks and ejournals

As the name suggests, the Institute of Physics (IoP) ebooks and articles focus mainly on physics topics. There are some materials that are suitable for CS and infosec courses, however.

Ebooks can be downloaded in their entirety as PDFs. To download in e-reader formats (Kindle, ePub), you'll need to make a separate IoP account.

 

Selected IoP ebooks and articles:

Online encyclopedias

Encyclopedias are great for getting started in a new or unfamiliar field. They provide:

  • Broad overviews
  • Relevant terms used
  • Additional sources of information

Free books online