Skip to main content
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Citing Sources: APA, MLA & Chicago Styles

An Overview of Common Citation Styles

Citation Tools in Databases

More and more databases are adding citation tools. It means that you may be able to get your references formatted by the database where you found them. Be aware that you will often need to modify these formatted references to ensure they follow the APA, MLA, and other citation style accurately.

When checking if a database provides this kind of help, look out for words and phrases such as

Cite

Cite Now

Citation Help

Citation Tools

Some popular databases that offer citation help feature include:

Academic Search Complete

Criminal Justice Abstracts

Criminal Justice Periodical Index

Gale Virtual Reference Library

PsycINFO

Scopus

Web of Science

Please note that you still need to make sure the citations are formatted correctly.

How to Use Citation Tools in Databases

Citation Help on the Web

There are many other citation tools on the Web, free or at a fee.

In addition to ZoteroBib, some of the popular ones include Citation Machine or EasyBib.

You can also obtained formatted citations for book from WorldCat (another version of Worldcat is available through the library). After clicking on your item's title, look for Cite/Export tab on the upper right corner of the screen.

One of Facebook's apps, CiteMe is WorldCat's citation tool. you can easily add it to your profile page.

 

 

 

Citation Help in GoogleScholar

GoogleScholar now allows you to get a formatted citation for your results in one of the popular documentation styles (APA, Chicago, MLA, and others).

Under the title and abstract, look for the word Cite. Click on it and choose your docuemntation style from the list.

Take a quick look at the feature here.

Refworks and Other Citation Managers

The library provides you with access to RefWorks, an advanced citation management software. You will find more information about Refworks here.

There are other services (not provided by our library) similar to RefWorks. EndNote (30 day free trial, then paid subscription), Mendeley (free) and Zotero (free) are some of the most popular ones among researchers.