Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

45th President of the United States, Trump & The 2016 Election: 2016 Election

Transition to a new President

What is the electoral college?      What are the branches of government?  What's in The Constitution of the United States?  What are the key dates for the 2016 election and the transfer of power?  How does the transition work? 

White House Executive Orders from the 45th President of the United States.  

End of Term Web Archive  captures and saves U.S. Government websites at the end of presidential administrations. Beginning in 2008, the EOT has thus far preserved websites from administration changes in 2008 and 2012, and is currently preparing for the 2016 electoral season.

2016 Election Results & Controversy

New York City election results from the Board of Elections   

New York State election results 

National election results reported by Politico:  

Since 1920, the Clerk of the House has collected and published the official vote counts for federal elections from the official sources among the various states and territories.

Election results and analysis from the National Conference of State Legislatures

CUNY Register to vote.  

Statements After the 2016 Election

Analysis and context

CUNY Forum: Post-Election Analysis: What's Next? On CUNY TV.  

Congressional Quarterly’s Weekly Magazine for coverage of Washington politics featuring in-depth reporting on public policy, politics, congressional legislation, and elections extending back to 1983, including: a complete wrap-up of news on Congress, the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates, and all roll-call votes.

The Political TV Ad Archive collects political ads in the 2016 election. In addition to tracking airings across key primary states, the collection includes ads that may air elsewhere or exclusively on social media.

American National Election Studies Data from surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation, inlcuding the ANES Guide to Public Opinion and Electoral Behavior.  

National Annenberg Election Study

Politics in America - provides information about members of Congress and the constituencies they represent.  Profiles include voting records and information about district boundaries. (available to JJ community only)

Library databases for political science  This is a historic election - scholars will be studying and writing about it.  Search efficiently for academic articles by using a library database.