Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

English Literature: Shakespeare and Poetry: General Poetry

Guide for Library Research on the works of William Shakespeare and Poetry

Poetry Exhibit

Poetry Exhibit

Starting April 2014 the Library put together an exhibit focusing on Poetry. Click here to take a look at some photos!

The Majesty of Poetry

The Majesty of Poetry

William Shakespeare

William Shakespeare

The complete sonnets and poems
by William Shakespeare
 Reference - PR2841 .B8 2002

Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Poems and other Writings
by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow
Stacks - PS 2253 .M33 2000

Rudyard Kipling

Rudyard Kipling

Stories and poems from Rudyard Kipling
by Rudyard Kipling
Stacks - PR 4852 .B8 1909

Books

Books

We currently have around 155 different books that deal with the subject of poetry. To search for these books go to Onesearch from the main page of the library website. Then select "Subject begins with..." from the left hand menu and enter the word "poetry" in the search bar. If you are looking for a specific poet, then also in Onesearch, select "Author, last name first..." from the left hand menu and enter in the name of the poet you are looking for (ex. Frost, Robert or Longfellow, Henry Wadsworth).

Find books with OneSearch

Journals

Journals

The majority of journals that deal with poetry that are available from the Lloyd Sealy Library collection are mainly in the JSTOR database. Try searching there either for the general subject of poetry, the specific kind of poetry you are interested in, or by the name of a poet you are interested in. If you know the name of a specific poetry journal you want to see then you can click here and search for other journals. Remember when searching to use relevant keywords such as "poem" or "poetry".

Links

Links
Poertry Foundation
(Publisher of Poetry magazine) Read thousands of old & new poems online. Browse by poems and poets, watch video, listen to readings, and read interpretations of poems. 
 
Academy of American Poets
Search poem texts and biographies of over 500 poets.  Use advanced search feature to search by keyword, title, first line, historical poetic movement or poetic theme

Bartleby  
With tens of thousands of poems by thousands of authors, Bartleby.com offers one of the largest and oldest free full-text collections of verse on the web.

Library of Congress Poetry Website 
This site, created and mainted by the Library of Congress is their gateway portal dealing with poetry, especially recent poetry.

MSSU Libguide on Poetry
This poetry libguide is maintained by the Missouri Southern State University. In particular the page here descirbes poetic forms in great detail while here poetic terminology is discussed.  

Favorite Poem Project
The Favorite Poem Project is dedicated to celebrating, documenting and encouraging poetry’s role in Americans’ lives. Robert Pinsky, the 39th Poet Laureate of the United States, founded the Favorite Poem Project shortly after the Library of Congress appointed him to the post in 1997. During the one-year open call for submissions, 18,000 Americans wrote to the project volunteering to share their favorite poems. This site archives videos of participants in the project reciting the poems they chose.
 

Poet Laureate 
This site, from the Library of Congress gives information on the current Poet Laureate. (A Poet Laureate is a poet officially appointed by a government who composes poems for special events and occasions.)  

Pulitzer Prizes in Poetry 
This site listes Pulitzer Prizes awarded in Poetry. (The Pulitzer award for achievements in journalism and literature. It was established in 1917 by provisions in the will of publisher Joseph Pulitzer, and is administered by Columbia University.

The Poetry Archive exists to help make poetry accessible, relevant and enjoyable to a wide audience. It came into being as a result of a meeting, in a recording studio, between Andrew Motion, soon after he became U.K. Poet Laureate in 1999, and the recording producer, Richard Carrington. They agreed about how enjoyable and illuminating it is to hear poets reading their work and about how regrettable it was that, even in the recent past, many important poets had not been properly recorded.

Poetry.org 
"A resource site for poetry and poets. Here you can learn about the history, meaning, and types of poetry, as well as terms often used when reading and studying poetry. There is also the resource page: a series of links to various poetry sites for daily poetry, poetry organizations, poet biographies, and more."

SpokenVerse 
Listen to poetry read aloud on this YouTube channel
 
Walt Whitman Archive (University of Nebraska-Lincoln)
The Walt Whitman Archive is an electronic research and teaching tool that sets out to make Whitman's vast work, for the first time, easily and conveniently accessible to scholars, students, and general readers. Includes digitized versions of all six editions of Leaves of Grass, plus a growing collection of Whitman's manuscripts.
 

Writing about Poetry 

This site, created and maintained by Purdue University is a guide that covers the basics of how to write about poetry. Including why it is done, what you should know, and what you can write about.