Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Anthropology: Reference Books

A guide to Library resources in Anthropology

e-Reference Books

e-Reference Books available from Gale Virtual Reference Library, Sage eReference, and other eBook Sources

Access to these titles from off campus requires a John Jay College login.

Alcohol, Tobacco, and Illicit Drugs , 2008

Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology

Concise Oxford Dictionary of World Religions

Dictionary of the Social Sciences

Dictionary of Superstitions

Dictionary of World Mythology

Encyclopedia of Anthropology , 5v,  2006

Encyclopedia of Diasporas: Immigrant and Refugee Cultures Around the World , 2005

Encyclopedia of Disability , 5v,  2006

Encyclopedia of Homelessness , 2v,  2004

Encyclopedia of Human Development , 3v,  2006

Encyclopedia of Human Geography , 2006

Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics , 3v,  2007

Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology: Health and Illness in the World's Cultures , 2004

Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology , 2006

Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World¿s Cultures , 2003

Encyclopedia of Social Psychology , 2v,  2007

Encyclopedia of Social Theory , 2v,  2005

Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America , 2005

Encyclopedia of Sociology , 2nd ed.,  5v,  2001

Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods , 2v,  2008

Encyclopedia of World Cultures , 10v,  1996

Encyclopedia of World Cultures: Supplement , 2002

Encyclopedia of World Poverty , 3v,  2006

Endangered Species: Protecting Biodiversity , 2007

Family in Society: Essential Primary Sources , 2007

Growing Old in America , 2006

Growing Up: Issues Affecting America's Youth , 2008

Guide to Countries of the World

Oxford Companion to Archaeology

Oxford Companion to Cosmology

Oxford Companion to Global Change

Women in American Society , 2006

World Poverty , 2007

Books in on our Reference Shelves

 

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Hunters and Gatherers. Reference - GN388 .C35 1999

Dictionary of Social Sciences. Reference - H41 .D53 2002 (also available through Oxford Reference )

Encyclopedia of Evolution: Humanity’s Search for its Origins Reference - GN281.M53 1990

Social Science Encyclopedia. Reference - H41 .S63 2004

Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology 4 volumes Reference - GN 307 .E52 1106

Encyclopedia of World Cultures 10 volumes Reference - GN307 .E53 1991 

Encyclopedia of Native American Religions Reference -  E98 .R3 H73 1992

Encyclopedia of Taboos. - Reference GN471.4 .H65 2000

Illustrated Encyclopedia of Mankind 20 volumes - Reference - GN307 .I44

International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences  Reference: H 41 .I58 2001 (Also available through Science Direct)

Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods. 3 volumes - Reference H62 .S34 2004