Sourcebook on Violence Against Women by
The Third Edition of this comprehensive volume covers the current state of research, theory, prevention, and intervention regarding violence against women. The book's 15 chapters are divided into three parts: theoretical and methodological issues in researching violence against women; types of violence against women; and, new to this edition, programs that work. Featuring new chapters, pedagogy, sections on controversies in the field, and autobiographical essays by leaders in grassroots anti-violence work, the Third Edition has been designed to encourage discussion and debate, to address issues of diversity and cultural contexts, and to examine inequalities of race and ethnicity, social class, physical ability, sexual orientation, and geographic location.
SAGE Handbook of Domestic Violence by
The field of Domestic Violence research has expanded considerably in the past decade and now includes work conducted by researchers in many different disciplines, notably political science, public health, law, psychology, sociology, criminology, anthropology, family studies, and medicine. The SAGE Handbook of Domestic Violence provides a rich overview of the most important theoretical and empirical work in the field, organized by relationship type. The handbook addresses three major areas of research on domestic violence: - Violence against partners - Violence against children - Violence against other family members. This Handbook is a unique and timely publication and a long awaited, valuable resource for the vast amount of Domestic Violence research centres and individual researchers across the globe.
Global Perspectives on Violence Against Women and Girls by
As the movement to end all forms of violence against women and girls (VAWG) gains momentum around the world, this provocative new work applies an innovative theoretical lens to gendered violence across a wide variety of countries and contexts.Global Perspectives on Violence against Women and Girls engages with VAWG in the UK and across the global South, including case studies from India, Pakistan and South Sudan. Considering various forms of violence including harmful cultural practices such as FGM to Early Child Marriage, dowry and bride price related harassment, stranger rape, work-based harassment, Intimate Partner Violence and other forms of domestic violence, this important volume creates an original critical lens by combining the ecology model, the intersectional approach and a spectrum designed to identify the range of different forms of VAWG in a given context. Arguing for a greater understanding of the local political and cultural contexts in which VAWG is allowed to flourish, Global Perspectives on Violence against Women and Girls is one of the few works to give due prominence to local women's organizations in the global South and beyond, who it argues must ultimately play the leading role in ending VAWG.At a time when the fight against violent misogyny finds itself at a critical turning point, this volume makes a substantial and timely contribution towards the ultimate goal of ending VAWG.
Marital Separation and Lethal Domestic Violence by
This book is the first to investigate the effects of participation in separation or divorce proceedings on femicide (murder of a female), femicide-suicide, homicide, and suicide. Because separation is one of the most significant predictors of domestic violence, this book is exclusively devoted to theorizing, researching, and preventing lethal domestic violence or other assaults triggered by marital separation. The authors provide evidence supporting the use of an estrangement-specific risk assessment and estrangement-focused public education to prevent murders and assaults. This information is needed not only by instructors in criminal justice and sociology programs, but by researchers theorizing about or investigating domestic violence. In the world of practitioners, family court judges, divorce mediators, family lawyers, prosecutors involved in bail hearings, shelter staff, and family counselors urgently need this resource. Ellis et al. include discussion questions and chapter objectives to support learners in the classroom or in community-based settings, and instructor support material includes PowerPoint lecture slides, additional teaching and research resources, and a test bank. This text advocates convincingly for prevention of domestic violence, and gives academics and practitioners the tools they need. This text advocates convincingly for prevention of domestic violence, and gives academics and practitioners the tools they need.
Domestic Violence As State Crime by
Domestic Violence as State Crime presents a provocative challenge to the way that domestic violence is understood and addressed. Underpinned by a radical feminist perspective, the central argument of this book is that domestic violence against women constitutes a patriarchal state crime. By analysing the international, collective, structural, and institutional dimensions of this harm, the author outlines a spectrum of state complicity ranging from passive bystander to active producer, participant, and perpetrator. The wide-ranging analysis in this book draws on data from comparable liberal-democratic contexts including Australia, the United States, and the United Kingdom, in order to comprehensively show how domestic violence state criminality functions in practice - even in the present and in supposedly progressive contexts. This analysis provides valuable insight into why this epidemic-scale crime is ever resistant to a diversity of contemporary interventions. Drawing its concepts into a cohesive whole, the book then posits an overarching feminist typological theory of domestic violence as state crime. It also considers how domestic violence might be addressed if we confront its state crime dimensions and adopt a more holistic and transformative approach to remedy, redress, prevention, and justice. An accessible and compelling read, Domestic Violence as State Crime offers an innovative scholarly and activist contribution to the study of violence against women, feminism, criminology, and the broader critical study of law, politics, and society. It will appeal to anyone who is interested in thinking differently about domestic violence and the state.
Batterer As Parent by
Moving beyond the narrow clinical perspective sometimes applied to viewing the emotional and developmental risks to battered children, The Batterer as Parent: Addressing the Impact of Domestic Violence on Family Dynamics, Second Edition offers a view that takes into account the complex ways in which a batterer's abusive and controlling behaviors are woven into the fabric of daily life. This book is a guide for therapists, child protective workers, family and juvenile court personnel, and other human service providers in addressing the complex impact that batterers-specifically, male batterers of a domestic partner when there are children in the household-have on family functioning. In addition to providing an understanding of batterers as parents and family members, the book also supplies clearly delineated approaches to such practice issues as assessing risk to children (including perpetrating incest), parenting issues in child custody and visitation evaluation, and impact on children's therapeutic process and family functioning in child protective practice.
The Price of Safety by
Specialized public resources for survivors of intimate partner violence (IPV) are increasingly common and diverse--from protection order courts and dedicated domestic violence units in police precincts to a vast network of community-based emergency shelters and counseling services. Yet little consensus exists regarding which resources actually work to reduce violence and help survivors lead the lives they would like to live. This book is an account of these resources and IPV survivors' experiences with them in three communities in the United States. Through detailed observations of services such as court procedures, public benefits processes, and community-based IPV programs as well as in-depth interviews with dozens of IPV survivors and practitioners, Shoener describes how our current institutional response to IPV is often not useful--and sometimes quite harmful--for IPV survivors with the least material, social, and cultural capital to spare. For these women, as the interviews vividly record, IPV has long-term economic and social consequences, disrupting career paths and creating social isolation.
My Partner, My Enemy by
The problem of domestic violence and partner abuse knows no bounds, can affect anyone, and when kept silent and in the dark can become deadly. Hon. John Leventhal presided over the Brooklyn Felony Domestic Violence Court, the first felony domestic violence part in the nation, since it opened in June 1996 until he was elevated to the appellate court January 2008. While domestic violence has greater social and legal visibility today then it did in the past, the problem still remains a massive and ongoing crisis. My Partner, My Enemy brings truth and reality to a matter that desperately needs to be addressed. So how do we help reduce and eliminate intimate partner abuse, especially when the public knows so little and much goes unreported? By exploring the severity of the problem through true case studies of violent and abusive men, and their motivations, Leventhal successfully brings to light the problem and ways to help.
Traumatic Divorce and Separation by
Traumatic Divorce and Separation integrates the conflicting mental health perspectives concerning trauma theory and the study of divorce, in what the author has termed "traumatic divorce" - that is, divorce complicated by the high-risk factors of domestic violence, mental illness, and/orsubstance abuse. The text's interdisciplinary discussion examines issues of financial disparities for women following divorce, traumatic symptoms in children and adults, and the legal controversies about the admissibility of psychological theories related to abuse. The author also addresses:domestic violence as a gendered crime against women; the need for a trauma-informed judicial response; and the need for a systemic judicial response that incorporates an understanding of domestic violence and child maltreatment to provide services and protections.The book is an invaluable resource for professionals and academics in social work, forensic psychology, law, and related mental health fields, as well as academics interested in gender based discrimination in the courts.
Domestic Abuse, Child Custody, and Visitation: Winning in family court by
When domestic abuse and children are involved, divorce and custody can be the epitome of high-stakes conflict and frustration and all too frequently protective parents lose custody of their child to a named abuser. Domestic Abuse, Child Custody, and Visitation helps mental healthprofessionals, attorneys, and lay readers navigate the judicial process so that decisions are truly made in the best interest of children. The text reveals how all the puzzle pieces of the judicial process fit together - judges, attorneys, mental health experts, children, spouses - and how toovercome many of the obstacles they will confront along the way. This runs the gamut, from the selelection of a lawyer and experts, to setting necessary groundwork for an appeal. Domestic Abuse, Child Custody, and Visitation is an essential read for mental health professionals and lay peopleinvolved in divorce and custody, family court judges, family law attorneys, and mental health professionals involved in domestic abuse and custody matters.
John Jay College & CUNY:
Fact sheet for students about intimate partner violence and stalking, with links to community aid organizations, prepared by the Women's Center.
CUNY policy on domestic violence and the workplace.
New York CIty & State:
NYC Mayor's Office to Combat Domestic Violence.
New York City Criminal Justice Agency creates reports on local domestic violence. ( CJA = not a city agency, but a not-for-profit corporation serving the City's criminal justice system under contract ).
Lawyer's Manual on Domestic Violence: Representing the Victim, Edited by Mary Rothwell Davis, Dorchen A. Leidholdt, and Charlotte A. Watson (6th Edition - 2015). A guide from NYC lawyers; The New York State Judicial Committee on Women in the Courts
Sanctuary For Families Nonprofit providing holistic services for victims of gender based violence and their children in New York City.
New York State Office for the Prevention of Domestic Violence and NY State DV hotlines.
New York State Coalition Against Domestic Violence
NY State LGBTQ Domestic VIolence Network. Anti Violence Project.
Federal agencies, national organizations (United States):
U.S. Department of Justice Office on VIolence Against Women
MedlinePlus (National Library of Medicine) information about domestic violence.
U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, Domestic and Intimate Partner Violence.
CDC [Centers for Disease Control and Prevention] Public health approaches to violence prevention. Intimate Partner Violence, Elder abuse and child abuse.
Safe Horizon is the largest victims’ services agency in the United States. Since 1978, Safe Horizon has provided victims of domestic violence, child abuse, human trafficking, rape and sexual assault, as well as homeless youth and families of homicide victims, with a wide range of comprehensive support.
National Coalition Against Domestic Violence
American Bar Association Commission on Domestic & Sexual Violence.
American Psychological Association Intimate Partner Violence Facts and Resources.
American Psychiatric Association on Domestic Violence.
Asian Pacific Institute on Gender-Based Violence includes advocacy resources for Muslim women
NNEDV’s Safety Net Project. [blog] Technology Safety: Exploring technology in the context of intimate partner violence, sexual assault, and violence against women. Incudes technology safety toolkits.
National Organization for Women (NOW) Ending Violence Against Women
International::
United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime. Global Study on Homicide 2019: Gender-related killing of women and girls. (click here for earlier reports)
World Health Organization Prevention of Intimate Partner and Sexual Violence.
United Nations Ending Violence Against Women
United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime. Global Study on Homicide 2018: Gender-related killing of women and girls.
United Nations Office of the Special Representative of the Secretary-General on Sexual Violence in Conflict.
World Bank on Gender Based Violence.
European Union actions to end gender based violence.
Bibliographies and literature reviews
Disciplinary approaches to gender based violence include criminological, psychological, sociological, medical, and legal. The following discipline-specific databases will help you discover peer reviewed articles: