The below OER resources are a combination of Creative Commons licensed material, Internet resources and library resources. The resources accessed through the library are not free for the college, but they are free for the John Jay students with a login.
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Anthropology: The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Anthropology (CEA) is a growing open-access teaching and learning resource.
Encyclopedia of Anthropology: This five-volume Encyclopedia of Anthropology is a unique collection of over 1000 entries that focuses on topics in physical/ biological anthropology, archaeology, cultural/social anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology.
Folklife and Fieldwork: An Introduction to Field Techniques: This is a full text government publication from 2002.
Introduction to Anthropology: OER Introductory Anthropology textbook by Lisa Pope Fischer, City College
Cultural Anthropology: Full text book by Tracy Evans, Santa Ana College, 2018 Lumen Learning.
Explorations: An Open Invitation to Biological Anthropology. “The first comprehensive, peer-reviewed open access textbook for biological anthropology courses.
"Project Gutenberg, Anthropology Bookshelf": Not technically a reader, but an open access source that compiles classic anthropology texts by region.
The Anthropology of the State: A Reader: This is a very thorough reader that compiles interesting, if at times theoretically complex, pieces on a subject that people often think is beyond anthropologists. This is an Internet source. Use for educational purposes is allowed under the Fair Use provision.
The History of Our Tribe: Hominini (SUNY Genesco)
“The book explores the field of paleoanthropology past and present. Beginning over 65 million years ago, Welker traces the evolution of our species, the environments and selective forces that shaped our ancestors, their physical and cultural adaptations, and the people and places involved with their discovery and study. It is designed as a textbook for a course on Human Evolution but can also serve as an introductory text for relevant sections of courses in Biological or General Anthropology or general interest.”
How the World Changed Social Media
“This book is one of a series of 11 titles. Nine are monographs devoted to specific field sites in Brazil, Chile, China, England, India, Italy, Trinidad and Turkey. These will be published during the course of 2016–17. The series also includes this volume, our comparative book about all of our findings, and a final book which contrasts the visuals that people post on Facebook in the English field site with those on our Trinidadian field site… Each book is based on 15 months of research during which time most of the anthropologists lived, worked and interacted with people in the local language.”
Native Peoples of North America (SUNY Potsdam)
Native Peoples of North America is intended to be an introductory text about the Native peoples of North America (primarily the United States and Canada) presented from an anthropological perspective. […]. Prehistoric, historic and contemporary information is presented. Each chapter begins with an example from the oral tradition that reflects the theme of the chapter. The text includes suggested readings, videos, and classroom activities.
Perspectives: An Open Invitation to Cultural Anthropology
Open textbook covering essential topics in cultural anthropology. Each chapter written by a different anthropologist. Includes teaching resources from the Society for Anthropology in Community Colleges.
Teaching Autoethnography: Personal Writing in the Classroom (SUNY / FIT)
By Dr. Melissa Tombro of FIT. “Teaching Autoethnography: Personal Writing in the Classroom is dedicated to the practice of immersive ethnographic and autoethnographic writing that encourages authors to participate in the communities about which they write.
anthro{dendum}
“Anthro{dendum} is a group blog devoted to ‘doing anthropology in public’ — providing well-written relevant discussion of sociocultural anthropology that everyone will find accessible. Our authors range from graduate students to tenured professors to anthropologists working outside the academy.”
Anthropology Tutorials (Palomar College)
Tutorials on major topics in anthropology, created and maintained by Dr. Dennis O’Neil of Palomar College.
Human Origins Initiative (Smithsonian)
From the Smithsonian’s National Museum of Natural History, the Human Origins Initiative shares research and other educational resources related to the study of human evolution and origins.
Sapiens
“An editorially independent magazine of the Wenner-Gren Foundation for Anthropological Research”
Society for Cultural Anthropology
This open access journal of the SCA includes teaching tools, podcast episodes, and supplemental teaching materials alongside journal articles.
World Mapper
“Worldmapper is a collection of world maps called cartograms, where territories are re-sized on each map according to the subject of interest.”
Journal of Video Ethnography: Journal of Video Ethnography (JVE) is a peer-reviewed, open access online journal publishing ethnographic studies that rely on video for their primary data collection tool. I
Global Lives Project: Unheard Stories: While this is not a peer-reviewed resource, this open source video library captures the daily lives of people around the world. The curriculum accompanying this was developed with the Stanford Graduate School of Education.
University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology & Anthropology Films: In its 120-year history, UPenn Museum has collected nearly one million objects obtained directly through their field excavations or anthropological research. Use for educational purposes under Fair Use provision.
Ethnographic Video Online: 750 hours of videos from the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, includes films, interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, and study guides. Gardner’s study of Dani tribe of Papua New Guinea (Dead Birds) and Connolly and Anderson´s study (First Contact) of inhabitants from New Guinea's interior highlands in 1930 can be found here.
"First Contact" (1930): Bob Connolly and Robin Anderson´s study of the inhabitants of the interior highlands of New Guinea in 1930. This is the classic film of cultural confrontation that is as compelling today as when it was first released over 20 years ago. W
This is a library resource accessed via Proquest: "Academic Video Online".
"Kaba's First Years" (1952) - Margaret Mead : A series of scenes in the life of a Balinese child, It begins with a seventh-month birthday ceremonial, showing Kaba’s relationships to his parents, aunts, and uncles, including the child’s nurse, and other children, as he is suckled, taught to walk and dance, and teased and titillated. Use for educational purposes under the Fair Use provision.
"Dead Birds" (1963): "A film about the Dani, a people dwelling in the Grand Valley of the Baliem high in the mountains of West Irian. This is a library resource. Alexander Street video database. Login using John Jay credentials.
"Bathing Babies in Three Cultures" Margaret Mead (1951): Comparative study of the interplay between mother and child in three different settings, the Sepik River in New Guinea, a modern American bathroom, and a mountain village in Bali. Use for educational purposes under the Fair Use provision.
"Trance and Dance in Bali" (1951) Margaret Mead: This film from Bateson and Mead’s fieldwork in Bali features a performance of the kris dance, a Balinese ceremonial dance which dramatizes the never-ending struggle between the witch and the dragon. Use for educational purposes under Fair Use provision.
"A Kalaharui Family" (2002) : Marshall’s study of Jo-hoansi Bushmen of the Kalahari
A Kalahari Family. (2002) This is a library resource accessed via Alexander Street
.