Skip to Main Content
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Humanities 300 - Citizenship, Rights, Expression - Spring 2024: Home

A resource guide for students in Hum 300 with • Professor: Andrew Majeske

Suggested Databases

One Search is our library catalog and a 'federated' search of a mix of materials available from the library. Try using the  One Search Advanced Search option. more on this and other databases and how to use them.

For controversial topics - explore CQ Researcher and Opposing Viewpoints to get background information on a topic, historical chronology, some data and examples of pro/con opinions. 

For all topics - log into Academic Search Complete try searching more than one databases at once by clicking on 'choose databases' Additional databases suggested are America: History and Life and Humanities Source OR Historical Abstracts (for non North American subjects)

Using this link to Google Scholar opens up access to some of the many many el-Journals to which we subscribe (Never pay for an article - ask a librarian if you can't  find the article!)

A list of Newspapers  both freely available and to which CUNY/John Jay subscribes, many are historical.

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) for news and analysis of current events with topics sections on Political Science and Criminal Justice

JSTOR is a full text database of historical journal articles and books - good for international and historical topics.

Looking for Images? Try some Art Databases or NYPL Digital Collections - or try these Image Databases

 

 

Identifying Keywords

Selecting the appropriate keywords  is essential for getting good search results.

Take a look at the detailed record in the library's discovery tool OneSearch for the book "Smashing Statues: the rise and fall of America's public monuments" by Erin Thomson.

Examine its Subject Headings:

  • Monuments -- United States
  • Memorialization -- United States
  • Monuments -- Public Opinion
  • Collective memory -- United States

Now, you can search for other materials  (articles, books and book chapters, educational videos) by using the keywords, for example:

  • Monuments AND public opinion
  • Monuments AND demolition
  • Monuments AND memory
  • Murals AND slavery
  • (monuments OR statues) AND protest

You can also search the specific statue or monument you are working on, for example.

  • Emmett Till and Monument

or you can find out more about the issue about the person memorialized, for example

  • Philip Schuyler and Slavery

 

Emmet Till

Subject heading - TILL, Emmett, 1941-1955

Emmett Till and Mamie Till-Mobley National Monument website

OneSearch Advanced Search - Results from subject heading search

Try searching this in Academic Search Premiere and America History and Life (John Jay Login)   yields many results & The  Peer Reviewed Articles seem especially useful for this project

Keyword Search on Emmett Till and Monument Results in OneSearch

General Schuyler Statue

Young Armstead, Myra B. (2023). Memory and Enslavement: Schuyler House, Old Saratoga, and the Saratoga Patent in History, Historical Practice, and Historical Imagination. National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior https://www.oah.org/wp-content/uploads/2023/07/508_SARA.508.pdf

Mckinley, J. (2023, Jun 26). In albany, A statue comes down: [the Arts/Cultural desk]. New York Times Retrieved from https://ez.lib.jjay.cuny.edu/login?url=https://www.proquest.com/newspapers/albany-statue-comes-down/docview/2829358528/se-2

Robert E. Lee Statue

Monument Avenue, Richmond on the Virginia Department of Historic Resources website.

Morgan, D. (2018). Soldier statues and empty pedestals: Public memory in the wake of the confederacy. Material Religion14(1), 153-157.

Weiner, L. (2020). Statues come down: AQ. Academic Questions, 33(3), 412-417. doi:https://doi.org/10.1007/s12129-020-09913-7

Dempsey, A. (2022). What absence makes visible: the removal of Confederate statues as an opportunity for transforming the public square and its memory landscape. The Sculpture Journal, 31(1), 37–54. https://doi.org/10.3828/sj.2022.31.1.04

Subject heading Lee, Robert E (Robert Edward), 1807-1870 - OneSearch Results

Keywords Lee, Robert E (Robert Edward), 1807-1870 AND Monument Articles found in Academic Search Complete and America History and Life databases

Proper citation formats

You need to provide proper citations to the sources of information on which you base ideas and conclusions in your paper or presentation. 

The library has detailed guides to the APA and MLA formats of citation. A good bibliography informs the audience about the scope and currency of your research. 

Many databases will provide you with the tools to create a citation but always double-check for accuracy. Here is some help.

Our guide to citing Audio Visual materials in the APA Format

"Freedmen’s Statue" or Emancipation Memorial

Emancipation Memorial U.S. National Parks Website

Library of Congress digitally available resources relating to the Emancipation Memorial

Savage, K. (2018). Standing Soldiers, Kneeling Slaves : Race, War, and Monument in Nineteenth-Century America, New Edition (New edition.). Princeton University Press. https://doi.org/10.1515/9780691184524

 

 

Christopher Columbus Statue

Columbus Circle Monument NYC Parks webpage

Borrman, K. (2022). Naming, blaming, and claiming: The Columbus monument and the struggle for diversity rights in Syracuse, New York. Panorama: Journal of the Association of Historians of American Art8https://doi.org/10.24926/24716839.15172.

Images of the installation and dedication of the Columbus Monument from the NYC Municipal Archives

 

San Francisco High School Mural (Arnautoff/George Washington)

"Life of Washington" by Victor Arnoutoff Public Art and Architecture from Around the World blog

CHERNY, R. W. (2020). San Francisco’s New Deal Murals in Long-Term Perspective: Controversy, Neglect, and Restoration. California History (San Francisco), 97(1), 3–32. https://doi.org/10.1525/ch.2020.97.1.3

subject headings - SLAVERY in the United States AND WASHINGTON, George, 1732-1799 articles in Academic Search Premier and America History and Life databases

Keywords - George Washington and Murals results from OneSearch

Justice Taney Busts

US HR3005 | 2021-2022 | 117th Congress. (2021, June 29) https://www.congress.gov/bill/117th-congress/house-bill/3005

This bill provides for the removal of certain statues and busts from display in the Capitol.

The bill directs the Joint Committee on the Library to remove the bust of Roger Brooke Taney in the Old Supreme Court chamber of the Capitol and to obtain a bust of Thurgood Marshall with which to replace it. 

The Joint Committee on the Library must remove all Confederate statutes and busts, as well as the statues of Charles Brantley Aycock, John Caldwell Calhoun, and James Paul Clarke, from areas of the Capitol accessible to the public. Furthermore, the Architect of the Capitol (AOC) must store each removed statue. 

Articles appearing in Academic Search Premier and America History and Life Databases on the subject heading Taney, Roger Brooke, 1777-1864

 

Arthur Ashe Statue

Arthur Ashe Monument page on Wikipedia

Monument Avenue, Richmond on the Virginia Department of Historic Resources website.

Schultz, J. (2011). Contesting the Master Narrative: The Arthur Ashe Statue and Monument Avenue in Richmond, Virginia. International Journal of the History of Sport28(8–9), 1235–1251. https://doi.org/10.1080/09523367.2011.567775