Skip to Main Content
Lloyd Sealy Library
John Jay College of Criminal Justice

History 425 - Fall 2023: Home

A guide for students enrolled in HIS425, Professor Dustin Meier

Suggested Databases

One Search is our library catalog and a 'federated' search of a mix of materials available from the library. Try using the  One Search Advanced Search option. more on this and other databases and how to use them

For all topics - log into Academic Search Complete try searching more than one databases at once by clicking on 'choose databases' Additional databases suggested are America: History and Life and Humanities Source OR Historical Abstracts (for non North American subjects)

Using this link to Google Scholar opens up access to some of the many many el-Journals to which we subscribe (Never pay for an article - ask a librarian if you can't the article!)

A list of Newspapers  both freely available and to which CUNY/John Jay subscribes, many are historical.

Our Primary Sources Research Guide and list of Primary sources (historical)

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) for news and analysis of current events with topics sections on Political Science and Criminal Justice

JSTOR is a full text database of historical journal articles and books - good for international and historical topics.

Looking for historical Images? Try some Art Databases or NYPL Digital Collections - or try these Image Databases 

New York State Library Digital Collections and NYC Municipal Archives Digital Collections

HathiTrust Digital Library offers many (mostly older and out of copyright) books, journals and pamphlets, freely available.- great for finding older government publications including annual reports.

If you get stuck or nothing on this page seems like its going to help you - get in touch - my contact information is below!

Medical Racism and Black Pregnancy

Suggested Search Terms

Medical racism * Obstetrics * Black or African American * Infant Mortality * Race * Perinatal Care * Prenatal Care * Maternal Health

Other suggestions

databases Health and Medicine * Health Policy Reference Center

United States. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. (2008). Evidence of trends, risk factors, and intervention strategies: a report from the Healthy Start national evaluation 2006 : racial and ethnic disparities in infant mortality. [Rockville, MD]: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration, Maternal and Child Health Bureau. Freely available from HathiTrust Library

Chambers BD, Taylor B, Nelson T, Harrison J, Bell A, O'Leary A, Arega HA, Hashemi S, McKenzie-Sampson S, Scott KA, Raine-Bennett T, Jackson AV, Kuppermann M, McLemore MR. Clinicians' Perspectives on Racism and Black Women's Maternal Health. Womens Health Rep (New Rochelle). 2022 May 4;3(1):476-482. doi: 10.1089/whr.2021.0148. PMID: 35651994; PMCID: PMC9148644.

Maternal & Child Health Mapping Tool from US Maternal and Child Health Bureau

U. Arizona Racism in Medicine’s Inauspicious Moments – A Brief Timeline

National Library of Medicine Digital Collections

New York Academy of Medicine Digital Collections

Fruit, Vegetable and Spices Markets and Trade [in the Old World?]

Suggested Search Terms

Fruit Industry * Vegetable Trade * Produce * Markets * Spice Trade *

Other Suggestions

"Spice Trade" subject search in One Search

Fruit and Vegetable Markets Keyword search in One Search

John Jay Library Digital Collections - Image of a Turkish Fruit Seller page from Gleason's Illustrated Newspaper. More on historical illustrated Newspapers from the Library of Congress.

 Markets search in Europeana

Ghana influence of Christianity and Colonialism

Suggested Search Terms

Ghana * Decolonization * Colonial * Christianity * Missionaries * Independence

Other Suggestions

Publications freely available on HathiTrust Library with the subject heading "Ghana"

YWCA in Ghana digitized photographs, Smith College

British Library Archival records from Digitisation and preservation of historical archives in the Public Records and Archives Administration (PRAAD) in Tamale, Northern Ghana (EAP541)

Nellie Bly and Blackwell's Island

Suggested Search Terms

Psychiatric Hospitals and New York, N.Y. * Welfare Island * Blackwells Island * Nellie Bly

Other Suggestions

JJC Library Research Guide on NYC Jails scroll down for a list of materials on Blackwell's Island

JJC Special Collections has a folder Blackwell’s Island Penitentiary Discharge Form Collection, 1893-1901. You can make an appointment to come and look at it.

Yeager, Matthew G. “Jail: One Year on Blackwell’s Island.Frank Tannenbaum, Routledge, 2015, pp. 41–53, https://doi.org/10.4324/9781315652542-10. [from original writings in the Masses Newspaper which is freely available online]

database - Crime, Punishment and Popular Culture,1790-1920

 

Convict Leasing and Georgia

Suggested Subject Searches

Prisons and Georgia * Convict Labor ( is a subject term) * Convict Leasing * Prison Industries * 13th Amendment and Prisoners * Penal Labor *

Other suggestions

Annual Report of the Prison Commission of Georgia. 1897.- 1930 John Jay Library [Open Stacks] Special Collections HV8330 .A4

The Prison Labor Problem in Georgia : a Survey. Microfilming Corp. of America, 1976. John Jay College Library Microfiche Cabinets ; AC1 .C7 PI 0010

database - Crime, Punishment and Popular Culture,1790-1920

Digital Library of Georgia

Try looking for 19th -20th century government publications freely available from Hathi Trust Library using some of the keyword searches above

United Daughers of the Confederacy (UDC)

Suggested Search Terms

"United Daughters of the Confederacy" <-- Phrase search * women, white and clubs * Misinformation and White supremacy * civil war 1861 - 1865 * misinformation " Civil War AND Daughters of Confederacy *

Other Suggestions

database - Women and Social Movements in the U.S. 1600-2000

Cox, Karen L. Dixie’s Daughters : the United Daughters of the Confederacy and the Preservation of Confederate Culture. University Press of Florida, 2003.Available at Lehman via CLICS

Joan Marie Johnson, Southern Ladies, New Women: Race, Region, and Clubwomen in South Carolina, 1890-1930 [a book not available at CUNY Libraries - but you can use Interlibrary Loan]

Thompson, Erin L. Smashing Statues : the Rise and Fall of America’s Public Monuments., W. W. Norton & Company, 2022.John Jay College Library Stacks E159 .T39 2022

Digital Library of Georgia

South Carolina Department of Archives and History Digital Collections

South Carolina Digital Library

(try web-searching other state's digital libraries)

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Ellen Belcher
Contact:
Lloyd Sealy Library

John Jay College of Criminal Justice

899 Tenth Ave

New York City 10019

(212)237-8238