LibGuides: Bill of Rights: Overview

Reference Books

American Constitutional Law: Volume II,The bill of rights and subsequent amendments / by Ralph A. Rossum; G. Alan Tarr
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780813344782
Publication Date: 2014
American jurisprudence; a modern comprehensive text statement of American law, State and Federal
Call Number: Reference Law KF154 .A5
The Bill of Rights in modern America : after 200 years by Bodenhamer, David J.
Call Number: John Jay College - Stacks - KF 4550 .A2 B49 1993
Publication Date: 1993
Click the title for the full text version available through eBook Central.
Encyclopedia of constitutional amendments, proposed amendments, and amending issues, 1789-2002 by Vile, John R
Call Number: Reference Law - KF4557 .V555 2003
ISBN: 1851094288
Publication Date: 2003
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution by Levy, Leonard W
Call Number: Reference Desk KF 4548 .E53 2000
ISBN: 0028648803
Publication Date: 2000
The contents of this encyclopedia are also available electronically through the Gale eBooks database (see entry below).
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution by Leonard Levy
Publication Date: 2000
Full text availability on Gale eBooks

Overviews, Transcript & Text

Bill of Rights - Original document and transcript Both transcript & facsimile are available on "Our Documents", a cooperative effort among National History Day, The National Archives & the USA Freedom Corps.

CQ Supreme Court Collection Click on "Supreme Court Encyclopedia" and then "Bill of Rights" for an overview of the Bill of Rights, its creation & synopsis.

Encyclopedia of the American Constitution Electronic version of the six volume encyclopedia that contains in-depth articles on all aspects of the Constitution and its amendments. The hard-copy version is located at the Reference Desk :KF 4548 .E53 2000
FindLaw - The Bill of Rights
Overview of the specific amendments, interpretations & landmark cases for each amendment.
Printable U.S. Constitution This site offers free, printable versions of the US founding documents.

Overviews and Issue Debates (Pro/Con) - Databases

CQ Researcher Plus Archive This comprehensive source will provide an overview and background information on the topic (e.g., gun control or freedom of the press, etc.). The database will also give pro/con arguments, related statistics, and a bibliography with current reports (and links to those reports), books and articles for further research.
Gale eBooks (Gale Virtual Reference) Overviews of topics (e.g., Freedom of the Press, Gun Control, First Amendment, etc.) from a wide assortment of specialized encyclopedias including legal encyclopedias, human rights encyclopedias, etc.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context Type in a topic (e.g., gun control, freedom of the press, etc.) and retrieve: articles presenting both (or several) sides of the debate, academic articles, statistics, and reference sources as well as related audio and video.

Popular Names of Constitutional Amendments & Articles

Popular Names of Constitutional Provisions Prepared by the University of Washington Law Library.

Videos

The United States Bill of Rights: and additional amendments to the U.S. Constitution VHS Recording. Request video from the circulation desk. Call Number: VHS-1747

Constitution Hall Pass: Bill of Rights Videos

These brief videos from the National Constitution Center, provide the history & context of the creation of the Bill of Rights & an overview of the significance of each amendment.

National Constitution Center

National Constitution Center: Interactive Constitution