This is the "Overview" page of the "Bill of Rights" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Lloyd Sealy Library Lloyd Sealy Library | Home John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Bill of Rights  

A guide to sources that provide a history, analysis, debate, and case law associated with the Bill of Rights and its specific amendments.
Last Updated: Oct 30, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.jjay.cuny.edu/billofrights Print Guide RSS Updates

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 

Overviews and Debates (pro/con) of Issues - Databases

  • CQ Researcher Online
    This comprehensive source will provide an overview and background information on the topic (e.g., gun control or freedom of the press, etc.). The database will also give pro/con arguments, related statistics, and a bibliography with current reports (and links to those reports), books and articles for further research.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context
    Type in a topic (e.g., gun control, freedom of the press, etc.) and retrieve: articles presenting both (or several) sides of the debate, academic articles, statistics, and reference sources as well as related audio and video.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Overviews of topics (e.g., Freedom of the Press, Gun Control, First Amendment, etc.) from a wide assortment of specialized encyclopedias including legal encyclopedias, human rights encyclopedias, etc.
 

Reference Books

Cover Art
American Constitutional Law: Volume II,The bill of rights and subsequent amendments / - Ralph A. Rossum; G. Alan Tarr
Call Number: Reserve Room - textbook KF4550 .R5975 2014 v.2
ISBN: 9780813344782
Publication Date: 2009-07-28

Cover Art
American jurisprudence; a modern comprehensive text statement of American law, State and Federal
Call Number: Reference Law KF154 .A5
Also available electronically on the Westlaw Campus database.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of constitutional amendments, proposed amendments, and amending issues, 1789-2002 - Vile, John R
Call Number: Reference Law - KF4557 .V555 2003
ISBN: 1851094288
Publication Date: 2003

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution - Levy, Leonard W
Call Number: Reference Desk KF 4548 .E53 2000
ISBN: 0028648803
Publication Date: 2000
The contents of this encyclopedia are also available electronically through the Gale Virtual Reference database.

Cover Art
The Bill of Rights in modern America : after 200 years - Bodenhamer, David J.
Call Number: John Jay College - Stacks - KF 4550 .A2 B49 1993
Publication Date: 1993
An electronic version of this source is available at:
https://libsearch.cuny.edu/F/?func=item-global&doc_library=CUN01&doc_number=006386805&year=&volume=&sub_library=AL001

Popular Names of Constitutional Amendments and Articles

  • Popular Names of Constitutional Provisions
    Prepared by the University of Washington Gallagher Law Library.
    A really useful list that identifies popular names or nicknames of Constitutional amendments, articles and provisions. The information is arranged in two lists: the first, alphabetically by popular name/nickname and the second list is arranged by each item's appearance in the Constitution.

Overviews, Transcript & Text

From: The National Constitution Center

  • Bill of Rights - Original document and transcript
    The transcript as well as the facsimile is available here on Our Documents, a cooperative effort among National History Day, The National Archives and Records Administration and the USA Freedom Corps.
  • CQ Supreme Court Collection  
      
    Click on "Supreme Court Encyclopedia" and then "Bill of Rights" for a quick overview of the Bill of Rights, its creation and the meaning of the 10 amendments.

  • Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
    Electronic version of the six volume encyclopedia that contains in-depth articles on all aspects of the Constitution and its amendments.

    The hard-copy version is located at the Reference Desk and its appendix, contains a transcript of the Constitution, the Bill of Rights, all subsequent amendments and other related documents. The call number for the hard-copy version of the Encyclopedia is:
    Reference Desk KF 4548 .E53 2000
  • FindLaw - The Bill of Rights
    Overview of the specific amendments, their annotations and interpretations and landmark cases pertaining to each amendment.

Videos

 

Constitution Hall Pass: Bill of Rights

This brief video provides the history and context of the creation of the Bill of Rights as well as a and overview of the significance of each amendment.

National Constitution Center

  • National Constitution Center: Interactive Constitution
    Three separate search boxes on this page allow you to:
    Search the constitution using a term within the text to retrieve explanations of that term.
    Drop-down menu allows you to retrieve information on broad topics (including the Bill of Rights) related to the Constitution.
    Select a Court Case to retrieve information on that case as it applies to Constitutional law.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip