LibGuides: Human Rights: Articles

Non-Legal Databases for human rights sources

Amnesty International Library
Makes available the text of news and newsletters, reports, actions, press releases, and other information about human rights issues around the world.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
Comprehensive source for theory and research in foreign affairs; includes working papers from university research institutes and NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and conference proceedings.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
Explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. Also Reports on international topics such as torture, nationalization of energy resources, peacekeeping around the world, etc. Coverage from 1923 to the present.
Ethnic Newswatch
Provides access to more than 200 newspapers, magazines and journals from the ethnic, minority and native press. Includes materials in Spanish.
Ethnographic Video Online
750 hours of videos from the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, and study guides
SocINDEX with Full Text
Contains core coverage journals dating back to 1895, and some priority coverage journals. Also includes full text for many books, monographs, and conference papers.
Sociological Abstracts
Scholarly articles, books, and dissertations in sociology and subdisciplines. Coverage from 1952 to the present.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Journal articles and book abstracts in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Coverage from 1975 to the present.

Legal Databases and Journals for articles on human rights

To find all the journals in the library that contain "Human Rights" in the title go to the Find Journals search box by clicking here and enter "human rights" to view a list of the over 70 journals on this topic. Some of the most prominent of these journals are:

Columbia Human Rights Law Review
Harvard Human Rights Journal
Human Rights Quarterly
International Journal of Human Rights Law
New York Law School Journal of Human Rights
Yale Human Rights and Development Law Journal

Most of these journals can be found in the below specialized databases for law related articles.

Hein Online
Several historical American and international law collections incuding law reviews and journals from their first volume of publication, the Federal Register, Presidential Documents, Attorney Generals Opinions, World Constitutions, and legal classics.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources formerly found through the LexisNexisAcademic platform - including federal and state laws and cases, constitutions, municipal codes and law review articles. The interface is designed to offer quick discovery across all content types. Personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents are also included.
Legal Source
Articles on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world with coverage dating back to 1908. Content from Index to Legal Periodicals and Books (formerly owned by Wilson) is now part of this database.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Fulltext
Provides scholarly articles and annotations of books and book chapters in criminal justice. Coverage from 1968 to the present.
Ethnic Newswatch
Provides access to more than 200 newspapers, magazines and journals from the ethnic, minority and native press. Includes materials in Spanish.
History of Capital Punishment Database
Collection of materials from the National Death Penalty Archives on the nature, history, operation, effects, psychology, desirability, and compatibility with religious and moral precepts, of the death penalty. Includes periodicals, trials, hearings, bibliographies and other related works.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery
Includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.

Need help?

Stop by the reference desk on the 2nd floor

Call (212)237-8246

Text (646) 256-5199

Email us

Search tips

When searching a database do a basic search by keywords such as: "human rights" AND _________ (see below for some ideas). Go to the advanced search box to limit your results including by date, author, type of publication and subtopics.

human rights AND [enter name of country]

human rights AND Advocacy

human rights AND globalization

human rights AND case studies

human rights AND cross-cultural studies

human rights AND developing countries

human rights AND economic aspects

human rights AND government policy

human rights AND health aspects

human rights in literature

human rights AND international cooperation

human righs AND prisons

human rights AND police

Find it!

Click on the button to find out whether the fulltext of your article is available in any of the other databases.

Human Rights: Articles

How do you find articles on human rights topics?

Non-Legal Databases for human rights sources

Legal Databases and Journals for articles on human rights

Need help?

Search tips

Find it!